The wait is over as Dublin take on Laois in what will be hotly contested Leinster Hurling Quarter Final in Croke Park

Leinster Hurling - Dublin Starting 15

Leinster Hurling Championship Quarter Final
Dublin v Laois
Saturday, October 24th. 6:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

Finally, this evening the Leinster Hurling Championship gets underway for Mattie Kenny and his Dublin Senior Panel in the quiet confines of an empty Croke Park. It will certainly be a different offering to what we’re used to, but at least the action is happening considering the situation we’re currently in.

This clash has a very personal feel about it as Laois, who were last year’s Joe McDonagh Cup winners, were responsible for an end to Dublin’s All Ireland Championship after only one game. The sides met in O’Moore Park with the home side pressing Dublin from the throw in to finish 1-22 to 0-23 winners in a very intense and physical clash.

Mattie Kenny and his panel won’t want a repeat of that to extend their involvement in this year’s competition and beyond with the winners of tonight’s game facing Kilkenny in the provincial Semi Final on October 31st.

The Dublin manager has this morning named his starting 15 to face the men from the O’Moore County later today. In that 15, 8 players named started against Laois in last year’s All Ireland Qualifier. Alan Nolan, Paddy Smyth, James Madden, Sean Moran, Cian Boland, Chris Crummey, Danny Sutcliffe and Ronan Hayes all get the nod again. And they’re joined by Eoghan O’Donnell, Conor Burke, Daire Gray, Cian O’Callaghan, Rian McBride, Donal Burke and David Keogh.

Tonight’s game will be broadcast on Sky Sports Mix, amking it available to all Sky and Virgin Media customers.

Dublin Senior Hurling Starting 15 (v Laois)

1. Alan Nolan (St. Brigids)
2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St. Endas)
5. Conor Burke (St. Vincents)
6. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
7. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
8. Seán Moran (Cuala)
9. Rian McBride (St. Vincents)
10. Cian Boland (St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
11. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
12. Danny Sutcliffe (St. Judes)
13. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
14. David Keogh (Thomas Davis)
15. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)