Dublin boss Mattie Kenny builds strong fifteen for League opener against the cats in Kilkenny

Mattie Kenny - National Hurling League

Kilkenny v Dublin
Sunday, January 26th. 2:00pm
Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

As it starts for Dessie Farrell in Croke Park this evening, so it does for Mattie Kenny and the Dublin Senior Hurling panel tomorrow as they make their first road trip of the National Hurling League.

Ten players that lined out against Laois in last year’s All Ireland Hurling Qualifier are named in the starting 15 for tomorrow’s clash against Brian Cody’s side.

Alan Nolan, Paddy Smyth, James Madden, Chris Crummey, Jake Malone, Tomás Connolly, Danny Sutcliffe, Ronan Hayes, Cian Boland, Oisín O’Rorke and Eamonn Dillon all featured when Dublin lost to the O’Moore County.

Eoghan O’Donnell, Daire Gray, Jake Malone, Fergal Whitely and Rian McBride all start tomorrow.

Dublin had three round robin wins over Westmeath, Carlow and Laois in the Walsh Cup before losing to Galway by 0-19 to 0-18 in the tournament Semi Final. And during the course of the Leinster pre season competition, Mattie Kenny had the opportunity to use as many as 35 different players in preperation for tomorrow’s League opener. A massive 5-88 was scored, while conceding 0-71.

Oisin O’Rorke, who was Dublin’s highest scorer during the Walsh Cup, starts tomorrow. Eamonn Dillon, John Hetherton, Donal Burke and Aidan Mellett all found the net. Dillon gets the call up tomorrow.

Meanwhile just six players, Eoin Murphy, Huw Lawlor, Paddy Deegan, Conor Fogarty, John Donnelly and Walter Walsh remain from Brian Cody’s team who fell heavily to Tipperary in last year’s All-Ireland final.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Kilkenny)

1. Alan Nolan (St Brigids)
2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St Endas)
5. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
7. Jake Malone (Cuala)
8. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
9. Rian McBride (St Vincents)
10. Tomás Connolly (St Vincents)
11. Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes)
12. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
13. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
14. Oisín O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)