Johnny McGuirk’s minor hurling panel saw their All Ireland journey come to an end today, and Limerick can thank sharp shooter Brian Ryan as his 0-10 collection secured their All Ireland final berth on September 4th. They’ll have to wait until next weekend to find out if Tipperary or Galway will be their opponents.

Despite a plucky second half performance from the boys in blue, Limerick led from the off. And with Dublin trailing by 0-09 at the break, this was always going to be an uphill struggle.

Limerick scored the game’s first four points, two of those from Ryan, before a Colin Currie pointed free chalked Dublin’s first of the day. The comeback, however was short lived as only minutes later Cian Magner Flynn redirected a high free from Brian Ryan into the Dublin net to leave the score 1-04 to 0-01

The Shannonsiders tacked two more scores on, before Eoin Foley and Johnny McGuirk Jnr added Dublin’s next brace on 20 minutes.

By the 25th, Dublin were trailing by 0-10 before Colin Currie again pointed a free to close it to 0-09, and both teams went point for point before the half hour mark.

It took only three minutes from the restart for Dublin’s comeback attempt to begin, with the first 0-03 scores of the half coming from Currie (2) and Conor Burke.

The two sides traded blows, and Dublin did manage to reduce Limerick’s lead to 0-04 by the 53rd minute, but unfortunately it was the closest they’d for the rest of the time on the clock. They’d outscored Limerick by 0-08 to 0-05 in the half, but sadly that wasn’t near enough as Limerick finished 0-06 clear and advanced to the Final in September.

Full Time on Croke Park: Dublin 0-15 (15) Limerick 1-18 (21)

Scorers for Dublin:
C Currie 0-08 (0-06f, 0-02 65)
C Dowling 0-02
J McGuirk 0-02 (0-01f)
E Foley 0-01
C Burke 0-01
D Gray 0-01

Scorers for Limerick:
B Ryan 0-10 (0-08f)
C Magnier-Flynn 1-01
K Hayes 0-02
C Boylan 0-02
M O’Kelly 0-01 (0-01f)
A Barrett 0-01
F Hourigan 0-01

D de Poire
D Hawkshaw
P Smyth
D Ryan
J McVeigh
C O’Sullivan
E Foley
C Ryan
D Keogh
C Burke
C Dowling
D Burke
C Currie
J McGuirk
R Hayes

J Walsh for Hayes (H/T)
D Gray for Keogh (H/T)
J O’Neill for McVeigh (48)
P Feeney for Currie (49)
S Currie for McGuirk (54)

M O’Kelly
B Nash
R Connelly
C Nicholas
F Hourigan
J Boylan
J Adams
M O’Grady
D Carroll
C Boylan
A Barrett
B Ryan
C Magnier-Flynn
K Hayes
C O’Connor.

J Flynn for Carroll (46)
D Woulfe for Barrett (49)
P O’Riordan for Magnier-Flynn (58)
M Bourke for O’Grady (61)