Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Draw Confirmed For 2020

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship 2020

A home tie against Kilkenny for Dublin in the opening round of the 2020 Leinster Senior Hurling Championship

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship 2020

We already know the format Jim Gavin’s Dublin footballers will have in their provincial competition. And today the round robin fixtures for the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship were released.

Mattie Kenny’s Dublin Senior Hurler will play the same teams in the same order as the 2019 season, with the venues flipped from home to away and vice versa.

What that means is a tasty Round 1 clash in Parnell Park against the mighty Kilkenny.

Dublin v Kilkenny

Despite a courageous and tough opening 28 minutes in this year’s clash in Nowlan Park, Dublin went from six points up to losing the game by five to the cats on a 2-23 to 1-21 scoreline.

A year earlier the Dubs, under Pat Gilroy came tantalisingly close to beating Kilkenny in Parnell Park. They led right through the game until Liam Blanchfield’s injury-time goal put Kilkenny into the lead with TJ Reid getting the final say from a beautiful sideline cut.

Wexford v Dublin

This year’s Round 2 clash with Wexford ended in a draw in Parnell Park. But the Dubs must travel to Innovate Wexford Park next year to face Davy Fitzgerald’s men. Wexford were leading Dublin earlier this year and looked to have the points in the bag. But centre back Sean Moran stepped up to covert a 21 metre free into a green flag with the last puck of the game to tie things up.

Dublin v Laois

A grudge match in Round 3 against Laois, the side that shocked Dublin in the All Ireland Preliminary Qualifiers this year sending Kenny’s men out of the competition. The Joe McDonagh Cup Winners replace Carlow, who lost their provincial status this year. But the O’Moore county men will have to come to Donnycarney HQ for this game.

Galway v Dublin

There won’t be too many Dublin hurling fans who’ll forget the final round of this year’s Provincial Championship. Parnell Park was electric as Dublin welcomed Galway. And in an heroic performance by captain Chris Crummey and his Dublin team mates, they ended Galway’s Championship prematurely.

In the final ten minutes of the game, Dublin bagged 1-07 leaving Galway visibly shellshocked at the final whistle. Goals from Eamonn Dillon, Sean Mahon and Chris Crummey, plus 0-09 for Oisin O’Rorke aided Dublin’s onslaught.

In 2018 only a point seperated the sides in Salthill. But with the experienced Kenny in charge heading to his native county, we might see a different result next season.

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Draw:
Round 1
9th/10th May

Dublin v Kilkenny
Laois v Galway
Wexford Bye

Round 2
16th/17th May

Kilkenny v Laois
Wexford v Dublin
Galway Bye

Round 3
23rd/24th May

Wexford v Galway

30th/31st May

Dublin v Laois
Kilkenny Bye

Round 4
6th/7th June

Laois v Wexford
Galway v Kilkenny
Dublin Bye

Round 5
13th/14th June

Kilkenny v Wexford
Galway v Dublin
Laois Bye