Leinster Hurling Championship Memories – Dublin v Galway 2013


As we look toward this weekend’s Semi Final against Kilkenny we pull out a fantastic Championship memory for Dublin fans

This Saturday, Mattie Kenny leads the Dublin Senior Hurling panel into battle as they take on the kings of Championship Hurling, Kilkenny. The last time Dublin lifted the senior provincial title, it was 2013 against Galway. We take a look back at that classic game as a 53 year drought came to an end.

Dublin 2-25
Galway 2-13
July 7th, 2013. Croke Park, Dublin

Anthony Daly’s Dublin Hurling panel ended a 52 year famine in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship in 2013 with a more than impressive win over reigning Champions Galway in front of 36,675 fans in Croke Park.

Dublin dominated the first half and started like the team who wanted it more. Paul Ryan’s 24th minute goal saw them put their best foot forward before three David O’Callaghan points. This meant Anthony Cunningham had to give his Galway side a half-time talking to with the scoreline reading 1-12 to 0-7.

The Tribesmen looked undercooked but emerged with new vigour after the break to tack on two points before busy-looking O’Callaghan stemmed the flow with one of his own.

Ryan, who was excellent along with the likes of O’Callaghan and Conal Keaney, struck his second goal of the game before Joe Canning and David Burke goaled for Galway. And though the aforementioned Portumna talisman tried his best to drag Galway into the game Dublin saw it out with ease.

John McCaffrey collected the Dr Bob O’Keeffe Cup to the delight of the Hill while Cunningham and Galway must regroup if their All-Ireland bid is to get back on track this summer.

Scorers for Dublin:

Paul Ryan 2-07 (4f)
David O’Callaghan 0-04
Ryan O’Dwyer 0-03
Johnny McCaffrey 0-02
Joey Boland 0-02
Conal Keaney 0-02
Conor McCormack 0-02
Danny Sutcliffe 0-01
Mikey Carton 0-01
Simon Lambert all 0-01

Scorers for Galway:

Joe Canning 1-07 (4f)
David Burke 1-00
Conor Cooney 0-02
Iarla Tannian 0-01
James Regan 0-01
Aidan Harte 0-01
Jonathan Glynn 0-01


Gary Maguire
Niall Corcoran
Peter Kelly
Paul Schutte
Stephen Hiney
Liam Rushe
Michael Carton
John McCaffrey
Joey Boland
Conal Keaney
Ryan O’Dwyer
Danny Sutcliffe
David O’Callaghan
David Treacy
Paul Ryan

Dublin Substitutions:

Conor McCormack for Treacy (53)
Oisin Gough for Schutte (55)
Shane Durkin for McCaffrey (57)
Mark Schutte for O’Callaghan (60)
Simon Lambert for O’Dwyer (66)


James Skehill
Fergal Moore
Kevin Hynes
Johnny Coen
David Collins
Shane Kavanagh
Joseph Cooney
Iarla Tannian
James Regan
David Burke
Conor Cooney
Cyril Donnellan
David Glennon
Joe Canning
Niall Burke.

Galway Substitutions:
Andrew Smith for Regan (21)
Damien Hayes for Donnellan (HT)
Aidan Harte for Tannian (HT)
Jonathon Glynn for Glennon (45)
Aonghus Callanan for Cooney (63)