Goals from Dillon and McGibb, plus ten points from John Hetherton put Carlow away in Cullen Park

Carlow v Dublin - Walsh Cup

Carlow 1-16
Dublin 2-21

The new era of Senior Hurling in the County with two time All Ireland Club Championship winner Mattie Kenny at the helm got off to a healthy start on a wet night in Carlow. St Vincents John Hetherton stamped his mark on tonights game with ten points. And goals in either half from Eamonn Dillon and Fintan McGibb saw the Dubs finish comfortably ahead of their first home game against Offaly this Sunday afternoon.

Carlow provided a good acid test for Kenny in his first competitive game in charge and as late as the 47th minute the sides were tied on 1-12 each. But four scores shared by Caolan Conway and john Hetherton, and a 55th minute strike form McGibb that found the net gave Dublin the advantage they would not let go of.

Carlow Fight back But Dublin Dig Deep

Dublin had a 0-02 lead at half time thanks to an Eamonn Dillon goal, set up by McGibb, who was influential throughout. They’d raced into a 0-05 lead on 13 minutes thanks to that goal and points from Donal Burke, Hetherton, Dillon and McGibb. But to their credit Carlow drew level and took a narrow lead with 3 minutes left of the half. Hetherton took control of the dead balls and converted four before the half time whistle to set the score at 1-08 to 0-09.

Sean Treacy got his name on the scorecard to start the second half but a few minutes later Ted Joyce struck goal for Carlow to level the game once again. And after Donal Burke pointed for Dublin, they would hit the front again with two unanswered scores.

Hetherton and Burke struck again but Carlow countered to bring the game to 1-12 a piece. But from there it was Mattie Kenny’s charges who took control to finish out the game. After a scramble in the goal in the 49th, McGibb was eventually able to pull on the ball to completely take the game away from Carlow’s grasps. Job done and onto Sunday.

Scorers for Dublin:

John Hetherton 0-10 (7f, 1 ‘65’)
Fintan McGibb 1-02
Eamonn Dillon 1-01
Donal Burke 0-04 (1f)
Caolan Conway 0-02
Sean Treacy 0-01
Sean Moran 0-01 (1f)

Scorers for Carlow:

Martin Kavanagh 0-12 (10f)
Ted Joyce 1-00
Richard Coady 0-01
Jack Murphy 0-01
Chris Nolan 0-01
Jon Nolan 0-01


A Nolan
S Barrett
B O’Carroll
L Gannon
T Connolly
S Moran
C Crummey
J Malone
Sean Treacy
F Whitely
C Burke
F McGibb
J Hetherton
D Burke
E Dillon


C Conway for Dillon (32)
R Hayes for Malone (46)
C Ryan for Treacy (48)
O O’Rorke for Dillon (63)
D O’Flynn for McGibb (66)
R Smith for Burke (62)
D Gray for Hetherton (62)


B Tracey
A Corcoran
P Doyle
M Doyle
E Nolan
D English
R Coady
J Kavanagh
D Byrne
S Whelan
R Smithers
J Murphy
M Kavanagh
T Joyce
C Nolan


K McDonald for Whelan (HT)
J Nolan for C Nolan (47)
G Bennett for Coady (53)