The Tribesmen of Galway Bounced Back In Style Today Dashing Dublin’s Hopes


Galway v Dublin - Allianz National Hurling League

Galway 0-20
Dublin 1-11

Pearse Stadium, Salthill

Dublin’s trip to Galway had so much hope but last year’s All Ireland finalists were too strong and ran out comfortable winners, reclaiming the second spot in the Allianz Hurling Division 1B Table. Joe Canning and Cathal Mannion were again on form for the home side. But fielding their most experienced side so far in the campaign proved just how much they needed to beat Dublin, who’ve ran them very close on the last couple of occasions.

0-06 seperated the sides at the break and the game finished on the game finished on the same margin. Galway took the lead early and never lost it despite Dublin pushing all the way. Joe Canning registered eight frees. Davy Glennon and Jason Flynn made life difficult for the Dublin backs, and Sean Bleahane played a prominent role scoring 0-02.

Sutcliffe gives Dublin hope but Galway remain relentless

Dublin were trailing 0-05 to 0-01 up to the 15th minute following John Hetherton’s converted free in the 12th after a foul on Eamonn Dillon. An Oisin O’Rorke pass found Danny Sutcliffe who flicked the ball into the Galway net to close the gap. But unfortunately for Dublin, Galway didn’t flinch and bagged five scores on the bounce fromSean Loftus, Niall Burke, Aidan Harte, Joe Canning and Conor Whelan.

Rian McBride reduced the deficit by two, including a beautiful sideline cut. But a three score response again from Galway continued to keep the Dubs at arms reach. Eamonn Dillon finished the half for Dublin, but Galway had the comfort of the 0-06 margin at half time.

Substitute Donal Burke hit the first score of the second half with his first touch, but Galway again would respond with another 0-03 from Glennon and Canning (2) within range. David Treacy, who had replaced Fergal Whitely in the second quarter converted a ’65, but Dublin just failed to reduce the deficit as Galway responded for the rest of the half to each Dublin effort.

Mattie Kenny’s side again showed the attitude that has been apparent since the beginning of the year, the only difference today was Galway were out to prove they’re still a driving force in elite hurling.

Scorers for Galway:

Joe Canning 0-08 (8f)
Cathal Mannion 0-04
Sean Bleahene 0-02
Jason Flynn 0-01
Conor Whelan 0-01
Aidan Harte 0-01
Niall Burke 0-01
Sean Loftus 0-01
Davy Glennon 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Danny Sutcliffe 1-00
Rian McBride 0-3 (1 sideline)
David Treacy 0-03 (1 65, 2f)
Eamonn Dillon 0-02
John Hetherton 0-01 (-1f)
Donal Burke 0-01
Seán Moran 0-01 (1f)


1. Fergal Flannery
2. Jack Grealish
3. Ronan Burke
4. Aidan Harte
5. Kevin Hussey
6. Padraic Mannion
7. Gearoid McInterney
8. Cathal Mannion
9. Sean Loftus
10. Niall Burke
11. Joe Canning
12. Sean Bleahene
23. Conor Whelan
14. Jason Flynn
15. Davy Glennon

Galway Substitutes:

22. Thomas Monaghan for Glennon (55)
19. Paul Killeen for Hussey (67)
26. Kevin Cooney for Flynn (69)
21. Sean Kilduff for Loftus (73)
24. Jarlath Mannion for Bleahene (73)


1. Alan Nolan
2. Paddy Smyth
3. Eoghan O’Donnell
4. Cian O’Callaghan
5. Chris Crummey
6. Seán Moran
7. Shane Barrett
8. Darragh O’Connell
9. Rian McBride
10. Jake Malone
11. John Hetherton
12. Danny Sutcliffe
13. Fergal Whitely
14. Eamonn Dillon
15. Oisín O’Rorke

Dublin Substitutes:

19. David Treacy for Whitely (21)
17. Liam Rushe for Hetherton (26)
21. Donal Burke for O’Connell (35)
23. Daire Gray for O’Callaghan (38)
20. Seán Treacy for O’Rorke (48)

(video credit: Official GAA via Twitter)