Dublin v Laois - Allianz National Hurling League

Ballyboden Veteran Paul Ryan Gets His First League Start Of The Year Against Laois Tomorrow

Dublin v Laois
Sunday, March 3rd. 2:00pm
Parnell Park, Dublin

Before the ball is thrown in tomorrow, Dublin have already qualified for this year’s Allianz Senior Hurling League Quarter Finals. Three wins from four games has seen Dublin breath more life into their hurling and the highlight so far was definitely their performance last weekend against Waterford in Parnell Park. It’s rare to see a team leak four goals and still come out on top. But that’s exactly what Dublin managed in front of a much excitable crowd at their Donnycarney HQ. Alan Nolan was the hero of the day, stopping a penalty on the line in the dying seconds that could have given Waterford the victory. Instead Dublin are level on points with their Waterford, who have to face League leaders Galway tomorrow in their final game.

If Dublin can get a win over Laois, and Galway beat Waterford, Dublin would secure second position in the Division 1B table. Should they lose, they’ll still have their Quarter Final slot. But Mattie Kenny will want to finish in either second or third, so they’ll face the respective second or third placed team in Division 1A.

The Dublin Manager has made four changes to the starting 15 that beat Waterford in Parnell Park last weekend.

Alan Nolan is rested, giving Sean Brennan some valuable game time in goal. Jake Malone replaces the suspended Darragh O’Connell in the Number 8 jersey. David Treacy makes a return to the Half-Forward line in place of Caolan Conway, who was chosen as a late change last week. Oisin O’Rorke doesn’t start with veteran Paul Ryan coming in to replace him.

Dublin (SH v Laois)

1. Seán Brennan (Cuala)
2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
5. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Seán Moran (Cuala)
7. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
8. Jake Malone (Cuala)
9. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)
10. David Treacy (Cuala)
11. Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s)
12. John Hetherton (St Vincent’s)
13. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Liam Rushe (St Patrick’s, Palmerstown)
15. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)