Flashback – Allianz National Hurling League Quarter Final 2015


National Hurling League 2015


A Mark Schutte inspired Dublin overcome Limerick to seal National Hurling League Semi Final Slot


Dublin 1-25
Limerick 0-16

Ahead of this weekend’s Hurling League Semi Final against Limerick, we take a look back at the 2015 Quarter Final between these two sides.

Dublin’s Mark Schutte was on the money again to help his side into the Allianz Hurling League semi-finals. The Cuala club man registered 1-05 in Croke Park, following up on his five points against Galway six days before to book last four clash with either Cork or Wexford.

Ger Cunningham’s side were staring at relegation just two games prior, following back-to-back defeats to Cork and Clare. But all that changed with a big wins over Galway and now Limerick to leave them dreaming of a first piece of silverware under the new manager.

Dubs Start Strong And Keep Momentum Throughout

Dublin moved ahead in the third minute, and kept that advantage all the way to the full time whistle. It was an impressive performance from the hosts, who were seeking to turn the corner on a bad run of form in Croke Park. They lost to Cork and Galway here already this year and were defeated by Kilkenny twice in finals last year. But they took a deserved 0-14 to 0-8 half-time advantage this time around and were generally dominant.

Early injuries to two key Limerick players helped their cause further. Captain Donal O’Grady and Seamus Hickey both forced to finish early. Mark Schutte maintained his impressive form in attack for Dublin with three first-half points, while the recalled John McCaffrey chipped in with 0-02. Schutte all but sealed victory in the 37th minute, when he pounced goal. Once again, he losing his marker Richie McCarthy and burying to the bottom left corner.

That put the Dubs 1-15 to 0-08 ahead and ten clear. Limerick did attempt a comeback with four points in a row at one stage mid way through the second session. But Dublin finished the strongest with six points on the spin themselves to win with plenty to spare.

Scorers for Dublin:

David Treacy 0-09 (7f, 1 pen)
Mark Schutte 1-05
John McCaffrey 0-02
David O’Callaghan 0-02
Danny Sutcliffe 0-02
Niall McMorrow 0-02
Chris Crummey 0-01
Cian Boland 0-01
Liam Rushe 0-01

Scorers for Limerick:

Shane Dowling 0-08 (7f, 1 65)
Graeme Mulcahy 0-04
Cian Lynch 0-01
James Ryan 0-01
Paudie O’Brien 0-01
Tom Morrissey 0-01


1. Gary Maguire
2. Cian O’Callaghan
3. Peter Kelly
4. Paul Schutte
5. Johnny McCaffrey
6. Chris Crummey
7. Conal Keaney
8. Shane Durkin
9. Niall McMorrow
10. Danny Sutcliffe
11. Ryan O’Dwyer
12. Mark Schutte
13. David O’Callaghan
14. Liam Rushe
15. David Treacy

Dublin Substitutes:

24. Paul Ryan for O’Callaghan (45)
25. Colm Cronin for McCaffrey (56)
23. Cian Boland for M Schutte (67)
21. Daire Plunkett for O’Dwyer (67)
22. Cian McBride for Sutcliffe (71)


1. Nickie Quaid
2. Stephen Walsh
3. Richie McCarthy
4. Seamus Hickey
5. Paudie O’Brien
6. Wayne McNamara
7. Dan Morrissey
8. Paul Browne
9. James Ryan
10. David Breen
11. Declan Hannon
12. Donal O’Grady
13. Graeme Mulcahy
14. Shane Dowling
15. Sean Tobin

Limerick Substitutes:

23. Cian Lynch for O’Grady (11)
17. Seanie O’Brien for Hickey (34)
22. David Reidy for Tobin (54)
18. Cathal King for Ryan (65)
24. Tom Morrissey for Mulcahy (65)

Video Credit: Tallowman GAA (YouTube)