Five Changes For Dublin’s Final Walsh Cup Round Game Against Laois


Mattie Kenny will look to repay Laois for All Ireland exit in Walsh Cup Final Round

Dublin v Laois
Thursday, January 9th. 7:45pm
Parnell Park

It might only be the Walsh Cup but the memory of Dublin’s exit from last year’s Championship will still be fresh in the panels minds. Laois upset Dublin’s Summer, sending them out of an All Ireland qualifier, finishing their season somewhat prematurely.

Tonight, Mattie Kenny’s charges have the opportunity to take a clean sweep in the Round Robin phase of this year’s Walsh Cup. And if they’re successful over the O’Moore County, that will set them up a Semi Final clash with Galway, one game away from the tournament final.

The Dubs have put in two strong performances to date, easily beating Westmeath and Carlow. And the county manager would see they’re League preparations take another leap should they walk off the Parnell Park playing surface tonight with another victory.

From the 15 that started at the weekend against Carlow, Kenny has made five changes.

Alan Nolan reclaims the number 1 jersey, replacing Sean Brennan. Paddy Smyth returns to action taking over from Luke Corcoran in the backs. Paul Ryan and Lorcan McMullan don’t start tonight, meaning some juggling in Midfield and the Forwards.

Riain McBride and Tomas Connolly will contest the middle of the park. Fergal Whitely will be deployed in the half forwards with Oisin O’Rorke continuing in the full forwards after replacing Ryan last Sunday to injury.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Laois)

1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)
2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s)
3. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
5. Paul Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
7. Jake Malone (Cuala)
8. Riain McBride (St Vincent’s)
9. Tom Connolly (St Vincent’s)
10. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
12. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
13. Oisín O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Mark Schutte (Cuala)
15. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)

Dublin Substitutes:

16. Seán Brennan (Cuala)
17. Luke Corcoran (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
18. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
19. Kevin Burke (Na Fianna)
20. Conor Ryan (Craobh Chiaráin)
21. Alex O’Neill (Round Tower, Clondalkin)
22. David Keogh (Thomas Davis)
23. Lorcan McMullan (Kilmacud Crokes)
24. Cian Derwin (Craobh Chiaráin)
25. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh)
26. Enda O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille )