After two impressive cameos, dublin boss Mattie Kenny gives Eamonn Dillon his first Championship start of the year

Dublin v Cork - All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship

Dublin v Cork
Saturday, November 7th. 3:45pm
Semple Stadium, Thurles

Dublin head for Semple Stadium tomorrow in search of a first hurling championship win over Cork since 1927. And based on the last two outings in the Leinster Championship, there’s absolutely no reason why Mattie Kenny’s side can’t come away tomorrow with another All Ireland clash to savour.

Like Dublin, Cork exited their provincial competition at the Semi Final stage after losing to Waterford in Munster last weekend.

After two cameos against Laois and Kilkenny, Mattie Kenny has named Naomh Fionnbarra’s Eamonn Dillon in tomorrow’s starting 15, along with Ronan Hayes from Kilmacud Crokes. Both players impacted off the bench in a stunning second half against Kilkenny that saw Dublin claw back a 15 point defecit and almost steal a victory.

Joining Chris Crummey, Cian Boland, Danny Sutcliffe and Donal Burke, Dillon and Hayes make up a very frightening front 6 for Dublin, that have the potential to take on any hurling team in the country. And if Dublin are successful in their task against the Rebels tomorrow they’ll come up against Tipperary in the next round, one game away from an All Ireland Quarter Final.


2016: Cork 1-26 Dublin 1-23 (All Ireland Qualifiers)
2013: Cork 1-24 Dublin 1-19 (All Ireland Semi Final)
2008: Cork 1-17 Dublin 0-15 (All Ireland Qualifier)
2007: Cork 3-20 Dublin 0-15 (All Ireland Qualifier)
1952: Cork 2-14 Dublin 0-7 (All Ireland Final)

Dublin Starting 15 (v Cork)

1. Alan Nolan (St. Brigids)
2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. James Madden (Ballyboden St. Endas)
5. Conor Burke (St. Vincents)
6. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
7. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
8. Seán Moran (Cuala)
9. Riain McBride (St. Vincents)
10. Cian Boland (St. Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruadh)
11. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
12. Danny Sutcliffe (St. Judes)
13. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
14. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)