Dublin’s Unbeaten Streak Ended By Clinical Kilkenny


Walsh and Keoghan hit the net in pulsating Kilkenny performance handing Dublin their first defeat this year

Dublin v Kilkenny - National Hurling League

Dublin 0-16
Kilkenny 2-23
Parnell Park

A third quarter drive, including goals from Walter Walsh and Martin Keoghan drove a strong Kilkenny side to victory in Parnell Park this evening. And what turned out to be a repeat of last year’s Leinster Hurling Final, Kilkenny lead from throw in to final whistle, consigning Dublin to their first loss of the 2022 season.

Dublin today were no comparison to the Dublin side that came away from Semple Stadium last weekend with a win.

Walsh and Keoghan hit a combined 2-04 today but they were only part of a more impressive Kilkenny performance. David Blanchfield hit 0-03 from the wing back position, and a strong first half showing from free taker Alan Murphy helped get Brian Cody’s side up and running, laying a solid 0-11 to 0-05 half time lead.

After seven games without defeat, including a winning run in the Walsh Cup, Dublin’s unbeaten record is finally over.

There were hints of a comeback on the restart with three scores from Donal Burke and Rian McBride cutting the defecit to 0-03. But Walter Walsh cancelled out those scores with a goal in the 44th and by the time Keoghan hit the net in the 50th, the game was all but over.

Dublin Scorers:

Donal Burke 0-09 (5f, 2 ’65)
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Ronan Hayes 0-02
Riain McBride 0-01
Paul Crummey 0-01

Kilkenny Scorers:

Walter Walsh 1-03
Alan Murphy 0-05 (4f)
Padraig Walsh 0-04
Martin Keoghan 1-01
David Blanchfield 0-03
Mikey Carey 0-02
Billy Ryan 0-02
Cian Kenny 0-01
Cillian Buckley 0-01
John Donnelly 0-01


1. Sean Brennan
2. Andrew Dunphy
19. Sean Moran
4. Cian O’Callaghan
5. John Bellew
6. Paddy Smyth
7. James Madden
8. Conor Burke
9. Chris Crummey
10. Donal Burke
11. Riain McBride
12. Danny Sutcliffe
13. Fergal Whitely
14. Ronan Hayes
15. Colin Currie

Dublin Substitutes:

23. Eamonn Dillon for Whitely (46)
21. Jake Malone for Smyth (51)
17. Donnacha Ryan for Moran (53)
25. Paul Crummey for Hayes (59)
24. Colin Currie for Mellett (62)


1. Eoin Murphy
2. Mikey Butler
3. Huw Lawlor
4. Tommy Walsh
5. Mikey Carey
6. Paddy Deegan
7. David Blanchfield
8. Cian Kenny
9. Alan Murphy
10. Walter Walsh
11. Padraig Walsh
12. Tom Phelan
18. Cillian Buckley
14. Billy Ryan
15. Martin Keoghan

Kilkenny Substitutes:

22. John Donnelly for Whelan (34)
19. James Maher for Kenny (45)