U20 Hurlers Keeper Eddie Gibbons hits the net as Dublin advance to the Bord Gais Energy Leinster Final

U20 Hurlers - Leinster Championship

Dublin 1-19
Wexford 1-10

A nine point win over a hotly tipped Wexford side see Dublin’s U20 Hurlers into the Leinster Hurling Final after a riproaring game in Netwatch Cullen Park last night.

Dublin keeper Eddie Gibbons hit the net with forward Liam Murphy pointing the way as the young hurlers secure a place in the decider in the new year. A powerful third quarter was enough to set up the date with Galway.

With a two point lead at the break, Dublin outscored Wexford by 1-06 to 0-01 before the second half water break, and that ultimately settled the score. Ross Banvile had put Wexford in front by the minimum before the first half water break on 0-04 to 0-03. But Murphy was on form for Dublin, pushing past their opponents to finish the half up by 0-08 to 0-06.

The Dubs built on that lead with points from Darach McBride, Kevin Desmond (2), Eddie Gibbons and Mark Sweeney all finding the target. Then in the 40th minute a long range Eddie Gibbons free travelled all the way past Wexford Keeper James Lawlor and into the net. And despite a late rally from Wexford, including a goal from Glen Murphy-Butler, Dublin held on solidly to secure the win, scoring the last four points of the game.

Scorers for Dublin:

Liam Murphy 0-10 (5f, 1 ’65)
Eddie Gibbons 1-02 (1-2f)
Kevin Desmond 0-02
Donal Leavy 0-01
Darach McBride 0-01
Mark Sweeney 0-01
Liam Dunne 0-01
Padhraic Linehan 0-01

Scorers for Wexford:

Ross Banville 0-06 (4f)
Glen Murphy-Butler 1-00
Sean O’Connor 0-02
Conor Mahoney 0-01
David Codd 0-01


1. Eddie Gibbons
2. Tommy Kinnane
3. Andew Dunphy
4. Iain Ó hEithir
5. Enda O’Donnell
6. Kevin Burke
7. Donal Leavy
8. Mark Sweeney
9. Darragh Power
10. Darach McBride
11. Micheál Murphy
12. Luke McDwyer
13. Billy Ryan
14. Alex O’Neill
15. Liam Murphy

Dublin Substitutes:

Kevin Redmond for Micheál Murphy (H/T)
Liam Dunne for Ryan (44)
Ciaran Foley for O’Neill (59)
Padhraic Linehin for Power (55)
Pearce Christie for O’Heithir (59)


1. James Lawlor
2. Cian Molloy
3. Sam Audsley
4. Joe Conroy
5. David Codd
6. Niall Murphy
7. Diarmuid Kehoe
8. Conor Mahoney
9. Josh Sheil
10. Luke Kavanagh
11. Conall Clancy
12. Richie Lawlor
13. Sean O’Connor
14. Ross Banville
15. James Byrne

Wexford Substitutes:

Glen Murphy for Byrne (H/T)
AJ Redmond for Shiel (37)
Mossy Murphy for Mahoney (50)
Daragh Furlong for Kavanagh (51)
Cormac Cooney for Lawler (62)