Tipperary v Dublin - League Quarter Final

This close battle in Thurles sees Dublin victorious over Tipperary and into the Division 1 Semi Finals


Tipperary 0-23
Dublin 1-21

Semple Stadium, Thurles

What Dublin hurling fans have been looking for now for many years was their side to compete at the top table. And this afternoon Mattie Kenny steered his side to their first League Semi Final since the 2015 season. The Dubs worked hard and earned their victory. Tipperary only managed to beat Dublin in wide counts and will be looking on those 18 wayward shots wondering what could have been.

Dublin led the game throughout the 70 plus minutes and only shot just half a dozen wides to book their place against Limerick next weekend in the Semi Finals. They led by 1-10 to 0-9 at the break having played with the breeze. But Tipp’s shooting seriously let them down racking up half their wide tally for the afternoon in the half.

Kenny’s side certainly made the better start in very heavy conditions, racing into 1-04 to 0-02 lead after only 10 minutes. Fergal Whitely rocketed a ball into the Tipp net at close range after Oisin O’Rorke’s initial shot was blocked. Jake Morris and John McGrath scored Tipp’s first 0-02 after O’Rourke landed two early frees for the visitors.

Jake Malone made it 1-07 to 0-04 to on 24 minutes before Tipperary started to find the target with Niall O’Meara, Forde and Seamus Callanan all scoring points. Eamon Dillon and Rian McBride responded but Morris clawed one back.

Sean Moran converted a free from around 90 metres out, but Tipp midfielder Michael Breen had the final say of the half with a score to leave 0-04 between at half time.

Tipperary attempt a comeback but Dublin dig deep

Four minutes after the restart Tipperary had tied the game. Forde hit two frees and Morris and Noel McGrath were on target to level the sides at 0-13 to 1-10 Moran and Dillon replied for Dublin but Forde cancelled these at the other end with a brace of frees. Cian Boland registered two good points, and another free from O’Rourke put them 1-15 to 0-15 in front going into the final quarter.

Tipperary substitute Mark Kehoe brought new life into their attack and a couple of points from him got his side back in the hunt before Forde levelled the match eight minutes from time. Sean Moran’s fourth point of the game edged Dublin back in front. Dillon and Paul Ryan found the sweet spot but Tipp kept in touch through Callanan and Noel McGrath.

A second yellow card for Danny Sutcliffe saw Dublin reduced to 14 in late exchanges but another point from Ryan was enough to see them home. Brendan Maher finished Tipps scoring but Dublin had done enough to get them over the line to improve see Mattie Kenny go one step further than his predecessor Pat Gilroy had done twelve months ago.

Scorers for Tipperary:

Jason Forde 0-07 (6f)
Noel McGrath 0-03
Jake Morris 0-03
Michael Breen 0-02 (1f)
Seamus Callanan 0-02 (1f)
Mark Kehoe 0-02
John McGrath 0-01
Ronan Maher 0-01
Brendan Maher 0-01 (1f)
Niall O’Meara 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Oisin O’Rourke 0-05 (0-4f)
Sean Moran 0-05 (3f, 1 ’65)
Fergal Whitely 1-00
Eamon Dillon 0-03
Cian Boland 0-02
Paul Ryan 0-02
Eoghan O’Donnell 0-01
Rian McBridge 0-01
Jake Malone 0-01
Chris Crummy 0-01


1. Paul Maher
2. Cathal Barrett
3. James Barry
4. Ronan Maher
5. Joe O’Dwyer
6. Padraic Maher
7. Robert Byrne
8. Noel McGrath
9. Michael Breen
10. Jake Morris
11. Niall O’Meara
12. Jason Forde
13. John O’Dwyer
14. Séamus Callanan
15. John McGrath

Tipperary Substitutes:

25. Patrick Maher for J McGrath (34)
23. Brendan Maher for Byrne (47)
21. Mark Kehoe for O’Dwyer (57)
19. Alan Flynn for Breen (61)


1. Alan Nolan
2. Paddy Smyth
3. Eoghan O’Donnell
4. Dáire Gray
5. Chris Crummy
6. Seán Moran
7. Darragh O’Connell
8. Rian McBride
9. Seán Treacy
10. Jake Malone
21. Caolan Conway
12. Danny Sutcliffe
13. Oisín O’Rourke
17. Fergal Whitely
15. Eamonn Dillon

Dublin Substitutes:

14. Cian Boland for Malone (29)
10. Jake Malone for Treacy (36)
11. John Hetherton for Conway (36)
23. Paul Ryan for Whitely (56)
25. Ronan Hayes for Malone (61)
19. David Treacy for O’Rourke (69)