Mattie Kenny names strong Senior Hurling Starting 15 for Final Walsh Cup Round game against Laois

Senior Hurling - Starting 15

Laois v Dublin
Sunday, January 6th. 2:00pm
O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

Tomorrow sees Dublin play their final round game in this year’s Walsh Cup and so far it’s been a successful campaign for Mattie Kenny’s first competition. Carlow and Offaly have already suffered defeat at the hands of the new Dublin panel, and a win or a draw will be enough tomorrow for the Dubs to advance to the Semi Finals. There, Kilkenny, Wexford and Galway await.

Eamonn Dillon’s return has been a very lucrative one for Dublin, scoring 1-05 over the first two games. Fintan McGibb’s 2-03 has increased Dublin green flag power rating. But equally it’s been John Hetherton who has added another threat to the teams artillery. The Vincent’s sharp shooter has converted 0-14 over the Carlow and Offaly fixtures, ten of those from dead ball situations.

There are plenty of changes to the side that beat Offaly in Round 2. Alan Nolan returns to the number 1 jersey in place of Sean Brennan. Whitehall Colmcille’s Eoghan O’Donnell makes his first start in the full-back line. James Madden and Daire Gray join O’Donnell in the back three. Sean Moran will step in for Chris Crummey at centre back. David Treacy and Caolan Conway will be rested with Jake Malone getting a start and john Hetherton moving to the half-back line. Veteran and former captain Liam Rushe returns to action at full forward with Eamonn Dillon and Donal Burke flanking him on either side.

Dublin Starting 15 (Walsh Cup v Laois)

1. Alan Nolan (St. Brigids)
2. James Madden (Ballyboden St. Endas)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
5. Tom Connolly (St. Vincents)
6. Seán Moran (Cuala)
7. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
8. Seán Treacy (Cuala)
9. Cian Boland (St. Oliver Plunketts ER)
10. Jake Malone (Cuala)
11. John Hetherton (St. Vincents)
12. Fintan McGibb (Setanta)
13. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)
14. Liam Rushe (St. Patricks Palmerstown)
15. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)