Dublin See Off Wexford In Croke Park Nailbiting Leinster Clash

Donal Burke - Dublin Hurlers

A massive win for Micheál Donoghue’s Hurlers to keep their Leinster Championship Dreams Alive

Donal Burke - Dublin Hurlers

Dublin 1-22 Wexford 0-23
Croke Park, Dublin

A goal from Cian O’Sullivsn in the opening half of today’s Leinster Senior Hurling clash was ultimately the difference As Dublin beat Wexford to keep them in contention for a provincial success and beyond.

Not for the first time Na Fianna’s Donal Burke inspired the Dubs in an enthralling contest at Croke Park. Burke registered 0-13, including two late in additional time to give his team an incredible result. And that win puts Dublin in with a great chance to finish third or better ahead of taking on Kilkenny and Galway in their final two fixtures.

Wexford never led in the contest but did battled to tie the game on a few occcasion including late on. But two coverted frees from Burke meant victory for Dublin.

The home side led narrowly at half time by 1-09 to 0-10 thanks to O’Sullivan’s goal. The Brigids man club man redirected A long range Burke ball into the net. They’d raced into an early 0-04 to 0-01 lead but Lee Chin kept Wexford in contention. But shortly after the score sat at 0-06 to 0-05 O’Sullivan found the net.

Wexford set up defensively to counter on the restart, but that two man full forward line gave Conor Burke room as a spare defender. But the visitors did reignite their game and reeled off the first three scores of the half through Chin and Simon Donohue. But as the game approached the hour mark Dublin had upped the gears to lead by 5 points on 1-18 to 0-16.

The 2019 Leinster Champions showed true determination and had closed that gap with the game in additional time. And whe it looked like Wexford might edge the game, it was Dublin who held their nerve to finish out 2 point winners.

Dublin Scorers:

Donal Burke 0-13 (10f)
Cian O’Sullivan 1-01
Paul Crummey 0-02
Paddy Doyle 0-01
Danny Sutcliffe 0-01
Chris O’Leary 0-01
Mark Grogan 0-01
Conor Burke 0-01
Sean Currie 0-01

Wexford Scorers:

Lee Chin 0-08 (6f)
Rory O’Connor 0-05 (3f)
Cathal Dunbar 0-02
Oisin Foley 0-02
Conor McDonald 0-02
Conor Devitt 0-01
Richie Lawlor 0-01
Jack O’Connor 0-01
Simon Donohoe 0-01


1. Sean Brennan (Cuala)
2. Paddy Doyle (Naomh Barrog)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
5. Conor Donohoe (Erin’s Isle)
6. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)
7. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
8. Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes)
9. Chris O’Leary (Lucan Sarsfields)
10. Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s)
11. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
12. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
13. Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s)
15. Alex Considine (Kilmacud Crokes)

Dublin Substitutes:

22. Paul Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields) for Hayes (8)
26. Sean Currie (Na Fianna) for Considine (51)
20. Darragh Power (Fingallians) for Grogan (59)
23. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes) for Boland (64)
24. Dara Purcell (Kilmacud Crokes) for O’Sullivan (74)


1. James Lawlor (Ferns St Aidan’s)
2. Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Conor Devitt (Tara Rocks)
5. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’)
6. Damien Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)
7. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
21. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
22. Richie Lawlor (Faythe Harriers)
10. Oisin Foley (Crossabeg Ballymurn)
11. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s)
12. Liam Og McGovern (St Anne’s Rathangan)
13. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s)
14. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers – Captain)
15. Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Eanna)

Wexford Substitutes:

26. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s) for Damien Reck (42)
23. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna) for Richie Lawlor (44)
19. Mikie Dwyer (St Mogue’s Fethard) for Jack O’Connor (49)
18. Ian Carty (Taghmon Camross) for Ryan (55)
17. Ross Banville (Shelmaliers) for Dunbar (71)