Dublin See Off Stubborn Carlow in All Ireland Preliminary


Dublin did enough in the final 10 minutes of yesterday’s game to eventually overcome Carlow to advance

Carlow v Dublin - All Ireland Senior Hurling


Carlow 0-21 Dublin 2-25
All Ireland Senior Hurling Preliminary Quarter Final
Netwatch Cullen Park

Micheál Donoghues Dublin Hurlers came away from Netwatch Cullen Park yesterday securing a 2-25 to 0-21 win to keep their All Ireland journey alive, and now look forward to a Quarter Final battle with Clare. But this gae will give the Dublin manager much to ponder against what will be stronger opposition.

Credit to Carlow, they maintained the momentum of their McDonagh Cup success and were determined to continue that fortune into the Championship. But a final 10 minutes saw Dublin outscore the home side by 1-06 to 0-01 to secure an important victory.

Chris O’Leary got Dublin up and running with a point that could well have been in the back of the net. Carlow were quickly back on terms and lead the first quarter by 0-05 to 0-03. And the game was close run right to the half time break with Carlow edging proceedings by 0-13 to 0-12.

Dublin struck early on the restart, with Cian O’Sullivan finding midfielder Mark Grogan who drove past Carlow keeper Brian Tracey to find the net. Substitutions Paul Crummey and Fergal Whitely all impacted off the bench. Crummey helped give his side a four point lead, while Whitely chipped in wiht two of his own.

Carlow rallied with scores from Kavanagh and a huge point from Jack MCCullagh. But Dublin grew into the half and eventually took over proceedings. And again Donal Burke was on hand to punish anny Carlow descrepancies. And the important second goal came late when Cian O’Sullivan sent a bullet across the white line.

Scorers for Dublin:

Donal Burke 0-08(8f)
Cian O’Sullivan 1-03 (1f)
Mark Grogan 1-02
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Chris O’Leary 0-03
Conor Burke 0-02
Fergal Whitely 0-02
Darragh Power 0-01
Paul Crummy 0-01

Scorers for Carlow:

Marty Kavanagh 0-12 (12f)
Chris Nolan 0-03
James Doyle 0-02
John Michael Nolan 0-01
Richie Coady 0-01
Jack McCullagh 0-01
Kevin McDonald 0-01


Sean Brennan
John Bellew
Eoghan O’Donnell
Paddy Smith
Paddy Doyle
Conor Burke
Daire Gray
Mark Grogan
Chris O’Leary
Danny Sutcliffe
Donal Burke
Cian Boland
Sean Currie
Cian O’Sullivan
Darragh Power

Dublin Substitutes:

C Donohoe for Gray (blood 7)
Donohoe for Bellew (HT)
P Crummey for Boland (49)
F Whitely for Currie (56)
D Purcell for O’Leary (66)
A Considine for D Burke (68)


Brian Tracey
Paul Doyle
Conor Lawler
Jack McCullagh
Kevin McDonald
Diarmuid Byrne
Jack Kavanagh
Fiachra Fitzpatrick
Richie Coady
Jon Nolan
James Doyle
Marty Kavanagh
John Michael Nolan
Chris Nolan
Paddy Boland

Carlow Substitutes:

Jack Treacy for JM Nolan (50)
Fiach O’Toole for J Nolan (68)
John Doyle for Coady (72)