Dublin Outplay Laois To Get Their U21 Leinster Hurling Championship Up And Running


A Sean Currie hat trick put Dublin in the driving seat in the opening Leinster U21 Hurling Championship

Leinster U21 Hurling - Dublin v LaoisLaois 1-10
Dublin 4-16
O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

Paul O’Brien’s Dublin side got their Bord Gais Energy Leinster U21 Championship off to the perfect start this afternoon in O’Moore Park.

Four goals for Dublin, despite one being sent into the net by Laois’ Frank Flanagan, was the difference between the sides in a great performance.

The home side were certainly a match for the Dubs for two thirds of this game but Dublin had done the damage in the first twenty minutes, their pacey style and skill saw them clinically put themselves into a 2-07 to 0-01 lead.

Dublin will now play Carlow on June 6th in Round 2 , with the winners taking on Westmeath in the competition’s Quarter Finals on June 13th.

Sean Currie led the line today with 3-02 from play, ably assisted in part by his brother Colin, who registered 0-04 himself. Lucan’s Ciaran Dowling also matched Colin’s tally with 0-04 of his own.

Sean Currie helped Dublin to the ideal start with goal inside a minute, followed by scores Johnny McGuirk and Colin Currie (2) to get the Dubs firmly in control.

By half time Dublin led 2-09 to 1-04, Curries second green flag coming from great build up play by Lee Gannon. Jake Cranny did give Laois a lifeline before the break with the only goal of the afternoon.

Laois got the second period going with an early Ciaran Comerford score, but Dowling and Colin Currie were there to respond.

By the 57th minute Currie had completed his hat trick of goals, but things would get worse for Laois as Full Back Flanagan mixed up a handpass and the ball trickled into his own net giving Dublin yet another goal.

Scorers for Laois:

Ciarán Comerford 0-07 (5f)
Jake Cranny 1-00
Seán Downey 0-01
Mark Kavanagh 0-01
Brian Corby 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Seán Currie 3-02
Colin Currie 0-04 (2f, 1 ’65)
Ciarán Dowling 0-04 (1f)
Frank Flanagan 1-0 (OG)
Johnny McGuirk 0-01
Lee Gannon 0-01
Fergal Whitely 0-01
Cillian Costello 0-01
Conor Ryan 0-01
Conor Burke 0-01


Stephen Kelly
Fiachra Fennell
Frank Flanagan
Lee Cleere
Jake Creagh
Eric Killeen
Padraig Delaney
Jake Cranny
Brian Corby
Ciarán Comerford
Eanna Lyons
Sean Downey
Patrick McKane
Mark Dowling
Mark Kavanagh


Stephen Dunphy for Dowling (45)
Conor Phelan for Cranny (48)
Aaron Bergin for Corby (54)
Jordan Walsh for McKane (54)
Liam Senior for Downey (58)


Dara Perry
Donnacha Ryan
Patrick Smyth
Cian Hendricken
Eoghan Conroy
Conor Burke
Daire Gray
Fergal Whitely
Johnny McGuirk
Ciarán Dowling
Lee Gannon
Pól Crummey
Seán Currie
Ronan Hayes
Colin Currie


Conor Ryan for Whitely (45)
Cillian Costello for McGuirk (45)
Cian O’Sullivan for Hayes (52)
David Keogh for Gannon (59)
Aidan Mellett for Colin Currie (59)