Dublin Hurlers Record Their Second National League Win

Donal Burke - Dublin Hurlers

The Dublin Hurlers lay down a marker with their win over Antrim ahead of their meeting in this year’s Leinster Championship

Donal Burke - Dublin Hurlers

Dublin 1-26
Antrim 1-18
Parnell Park, Dublin

Mattie Kenny will be pleased leaving Dublin headquarters this evening after seeing his side register an 0-08 victory over Ulster men Antrim. And if psychology counts for anything, it will play on the minds of Antrim as these two sides meet again in just over a month in the Leinster Hurling Championship.

Today’s win puts Dublin in a solid position before they face Clare in two weeks time. And this evening they were full value. After scoring 0-18 against Laois, Donal Burke again came out top scorer with 0-07. Meanwhile Ronan Hayes found the net for Dublin in the 54th minute. It will relieve the stress Antrim have caused after two impressive performances against Clare and Kilkenny.

In a 20 minute period during the first half Dublin score 0-07 on the bounce to finish the half 0-13 to 0-06 ahead. Daire Gray sent over three second-half Dublin points from defence and Hayes’ goal, following an exchange of passes with Jake Malone, was the decisive score.

Kenny made good use of today’s game, sending on all seven subs. John Hetherton and Davy Keogh both came off the bench and added themselves to scorecard shared by as many as thirteen Dublin players.

Scorers for Dublin:

Donal Burke 0-07 (4f, 1 ’65)
Ronan Hayes 1-00
Daire Gray 0-03
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Cian Boland 0-02
Chris Crummey 0-02
Conor Burke 0-02
John Hetherton 0-02
Jake Malone 0-01
Sean Moran 0-01
Cian O’Sullivan 0-01
Paul Crummey 0-01
Davy Keogh 0-01

Scorers for Antrim:

Neil McManus 1-02 (1-00 pen, 1f)
Ciaran Clarke 0-04 (4f)
Niall McKenna 0-04
James McNaughton 0-03 (2f)
Conor Johnston 0-02
Keelan Molloy 0-02
Eoghan Campbell 0-01


Sean Brennan
Cian O’Callaghan
Eoghan O’Donnell
Andrew Dunphy
Sean Moran
Liam Rushe
Daire Gray
Jake Malone
Conor Burke
Chris Crummey
Donal Burke
Danny Sutcliffe
Cian Boland
Ronan Hayes
Cian O’Sullivan

Dublin Substitutes:

Eamonn Dillon for O’Sullivan 50
John Hetherton for Sutcliffe 50
Rian McBride for Malone 56
James Madden for Rushe 56
Davy Keogh for Boland 59
Paul Crummey for Hayes 65
Paddy Smyth for Moran 70


Ryan Elliott
Damon McMullan
Gerard Walsh
Stephen Rooney
Eoghan Campbell
Paddy Burke
Joe Maskey
Keelan Molloy
Michael Bradley
Neil McManus
James McNaughton
Niall McKenna
Conal Cunning
Domhnall Nugent
Ciaran Clarke

Antrim Substitutes:

Conor Johnston for Nugent H/T
Dan McCloskey for Michael Bradley 45
Pheilim Duffin for Clarke 46
Shea Shannon for Rooney 46
Eoin O’Neill for Cunning 55
Ryan McCambridge for Maskey 58