This weekend Dublin Senior Hurlers, under the supervision of new manager Pat Gilroy and his newly named backroom team, will take to the playing field of Fenway Park in Boston for this year’s AIG Fenway Classic.

Four teams, three games, one trophy. The tournament, in a Super 11’s format will be contested by Dublin, Tipperary, All Ireland Champions Galway, and Clare. The competition will consist of two Semi Finals, deciding the pairing for the Final.

Dublin and Galway will face off in one of the two Semi Finals, and with former Galway boss Anthony Cunningham joining Pat Gilroy’s new Dublin regime, this add a little spice to the game, which back in 2015 was quite the entertaining encounter. On the other side of the draw Tipperary and Clare, who are no strangers to each other, will battle it out for a place in the final game of the day.

Gilroy’s arrival as Dublin manager has brought a sense of anticipation to the capital, especially now that Danny Sutcliffe will return to action in a sky blue shirt.

Current Dublin hurling star Niall McMorrow was in Fenway 2 years ago and is once again looking forward to facing Galway one more time.

DUBLIN: Jonathon Tracey, Paul Winters, Eanna Boland, Paul Crummey, Paddy Smyth, Shane Barrett, Stephen O Connor, James Madden, Kevin Hetherton, Cian MacGabhann, Stephen Chester, Dónal Gormley, Glenn Whelan, Ronan Hayes, Danny Sutcliffe, John Hetherton, Fergal Whitely, Cillian Costello, Tom Connolly, Darren Kelly, Cian MacGabhann, Emmet McKenna, Donal Burke, Darragh Gray, Alan Moore, Niall McMorrow.

So how does the competition work?

**Each team in the AIG Fenway Hurling Classic 2017 will have 11 players. Unlimited substitutions are allowed from the substitution zones at the side of the field. There will be two semi-finals with the winners meeting in the final for the Players Champions Cup. In the event of a tie there will be a penalty shootout where each team will alternate five penalty pucks. If one team is not ahead on goals after these five penalty pucks, each team shall take a further one penalty each, repeated until only one team scores. All games will consist of two 20 minute halves and will be officiated by a referee assisted by a Line Official, Clock Official and Television Match Official.

**Three points are scored when struck from inside the defensive zone (20 yards from each goal) and five for a goal struck from outside.

**Shot Clock – Once possession is gained, a team has 30 seconds to attempt a goal. This is, reduced to 20 seconds for the last two minutes of each period.

**Sin Bin and Dismissal – Depending on the severity of a foul a player can be sin-binned for two minutes or dismissed from the game with no substitute in either event.