Dublin Ease Past Antrim To Set Up Leinster Clash With Galway


A comfortable win for the Dublin Senior Hurlers against Antrim sees them through to this year’s Leinster Semi Finals next week.

Dublin Senior Hurlers - Allianz National Hurling League

Dublin 3-31
Antrim 0-22
Pairc Tailteann, Navan

The rumours of an upset this afternoon from a developing Antrim Hurling side were put to bed in style. Mattie Kenny’s Dublin Senior Hurlers made easy work of the Saffrons with an 18 point victory. And that sees them advance in this year’s Leinster championship. Galway wait in the wings next weekend in the competition’s Semi Final.

A string first half performance from Dublin set the tone. And it laid the foundations for an impressive win. Following a fairly even first 15 minutes, Dublin pulled away. Ultimately goals from Cian O’Sullivan, Ronan Hayes and Cian Boland increased the defecit for Antrim further, taking the game from them.

The Dubs had as many as 13 different names on the scoresheet, with free taker Donal Burke once again leading the scoring with 0-11, five coming from play.

An impressive Ronan Hayes finished the day on 1-03, while Dublin their hand from the bench with subs Fergal Whitely, Oisin O’Rorke and Paul Crummey all finding the target.

A Dublin 0-08 to 0-06 lead at the first half water break was as close as Antrim would get, as the Dubs pulled away on the restart. Cian O’Sullivan’s 32nd minute goal helped them to a 1-17 to 0-12 half time advantage.

Antrim struggled to find the vital goal to catapult a comeback. And Dublin only made matters worse scoring two more before full time. Hayes found the net in the 53rd minute, with Boland adding his two minutes later.

Antrim now head for a preliminary qualifier against the losers of the Wexford v Laois game this evening. For Dublin, they’ll be remembering the last Leinster clash they had with Galway back in 2019 when they upset the Tribesmen in the Championship and will be hoping for better fortunes again.

Dublin Scorers:

Donal Burke 0-11 (6f)
Ronan Hayes 1-03
Cian O’Sullivan 1-02
Cian Boland 1-01
Chris Crummey 0-03
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Rian McBride 0-02
Conor Burke 0-01
Eoghan O’Donnell 0-01
Oisin O’Rorke 0-01
Fergal Whitely 0-01
Paul Crummey 0-01
Sean Moran 0-01

Antrim Scorers:

Ciaran Clarke 0-09 (6f, 1 ’65)
Neil McManus 0-06
Keelan Molloy 0-03
James McNaughton 0-01 (1f)
Conal Cunning 0-01
Michael Bradley 0-01
Conor McCann 0-01


Alan Nolan
Paddy Smyth
Eoghan O’Donnell
Cian O’Callaghan
Daire Gray
Liam Rushe
James Madden
Rian McBride
Conor Burke
Chris Crummey
Danny Sutcliffe
Donal Burke
Cian O’Sullivan
Ronan Hayes
Cian Boland

Dublin Substitutes:

Jake Malone for McBride (57)
Fergal Whitely for Sutcliffe (57)
Oisin O’Rorke for O’Sullivan (57)
Sean Moran for Conor Burke (60)
Paul Crummey for Chris Crummey (63)


Ryan Elliott
Damon McMullan
Gerard Walsh
Stephen Rooney
Eoghan Campbell
Paddy Burke
Joe Maskey
Keelan Molloy
James McNaughton
Michael Bradley
Neil McManus
Niall McKenna
Ciaran Clarke
Conal Cunning
Shane Elliott

Antrim Substitutes:

Conor McCann for Shane Elliott (27)
Domhall Nugent for McKenna (48)
Shea Shannon for Bradley (48)
Ciaran Johnson for Campbell (57)
Ryan McGarry for Maskey (57)