More League Points Secured For Mattie Kenny’s Dublin Hurlers with Victory in Carlow

Carlow 0-09
Dublin 0-20

The Dublin Hurlers made it back to back wins tonight with an eleven point win over Carlow. And the memory of their opening day defeat to Kilkenny seems a distant memory.

The weather did neither side any favours but Dublin cranked up the gears after a tight opening half to leave Carlow behind.

By the 18th minute in horrible conditions, Carlow were 0-03 to 0-02, with two Marty Kavanagh frees and a slick score from John Michael Nolan. Rian McBride was on target for both Dublin’s scores. And they grew as the game progressed finishing the half ahead by 0-06 to 0-04. Oisin O’Rorke, Sean Moran and McBride all found the target before the break.

Dublin had two goal chances, both from Chris Crummey in the second quarter, and the game could have ran completely from Carlow had they been converted.

Against the wind Dublin found an extra gear in the second half, and substitute Paul Ryan easily picked off five scores. Goal threats were averted by Carlow keeper Damien Jordan before leaving the field injured. John Hetherton’s shot stopped and O’Rorke’s follow up went wide.

But Dublin took complete control for the entire half despite Carlow’s best efforts to mount an attack. A below par first half seemed the catalyst for Dublin’s much improved second session.

Scorers for Carlow:

Martin Kavanagh 0-06 (4f)
John Michael Nolan 0-02
David English 0-01 (1f)

Scorers for Dublin:

Paul Ryan 0-05 (3f, 1 ’65)
Rian McBride 0-04
Oisin O’Rorke 0-03 (3f)
Sean Moran 0-02 (1f)
David Keogh 0-02
Daire Gray 0-02
Chris Crummey 0-02


1. Damien Jordan
2. Ross Smithers
3. Paul Doyle
4. Michael Doyle
5. Richard Coady
6. David English
7. Gary Bennett
8. Jack Kavanagh
9. Aaron Amond
10. John Michael Nolan
11. Martin Kavanagh
12. Kevin McDonald
13. Ted Joyce
14. Paul Coady
19. Cathal Tracey

Carlow Substitutes:

22. Sean Whelan for Richard Coady (17)
16. Ciaran Abbey for Jordan (47)
23. Dean Tobin for Smithers (60)
20. Dara Tobin for P Coady (62)
25. Tadhg Daly for Amond (71)


16. Alan Nolan
2. Paddy Smyth
3. Eoghan O’Donnell
4. James Madden
5. Chris Crummey
6. Daire Gray
7. Sean Moran
8. Jake Malone
9. Rian McBride
10. John Hetherton
11. Donal Burke
12. Mark Schutte
13. Oisin O’Rorke
14. Ronan Hayes
22. Shane Barrett

Dublin Substitutes:

15. David Keogh for Schutte (HT)
26. Cian O’Callaghan for Barrett (HT)
24. Paul Ryan for O’Rorke (51)
23. Fiontan McGibb for Burke (68)
17. Andrew Dunphy for Madden (69)