Cuala man Treacy ensures the first club hurling final replay since 1995

David Treacy Saves Cuala

Cuala 2-19 Na Piarsaigh 1-22
Croke Park, Dublin

We were promised a thrilling match in this year’s AIB GAA Senior Hurling Championship Final, and Cuala and Na Piarsaigh certainly didn’t disappoint, treating fans to extra time. And nothing could seperate these two teams, with David treacy showing nerves of steel converting the 80th minute equaliser to bring the final to a replay.

The reigning champions and former champions confirmed to everyone watching that this would be a rip roaring encounter, pushing each other to their limits, forcing the first rematch since 1995.

A strong Na Piarsaigh second quarter reaped 0-07, sending the Limerick Champions into the dressing 0-02 the better of Cuala. They had clearly done their homework as full back Mike Casey was able to secure the threat of Cuala’s Con O’Callaghan, who only score one point, but did force some vital frees for the Dalkey man.

Peter Casey’s 33rd minute goal inspired Na Piarsaigh, but Cuala, who had ten different scorers today never let up and by the third quarter were leading 0-15 to 1-11.

David Breen, Adrain Breen, Kevin Downes and Shane Dowling all combined late with Na Piarsaigh finishing the stronger, 0-03 clear, before Sean Moran’s 21 meter free hit the net to give Cuala the lifeline and extra time.

Na Piarsaigh got their second goal early, when David Breen rocketed a shot into the net after a fantastic cutting run from David Dempsey. The Limerick were ahead 2-18 to 1-20 at the midway mark of extra-time.

A Treacy free in the 72nd minute restored parity before David Dempsey flighted over a Na Piarsaigh point that had the look of a winning score for a spell. However Treacy would have the final say of an amazing contest.

Scorers for Cuala:
David Treacy 0-12 (12f)
Seán Treacy 0-03
Seán Moran 1-00 (1-00f)
Darragh O’Connell 0-01
Jake Malone 0-01
Colm Cronin 0-01
Colum Sheanon 0-01
Mark Schutte 0-01
Con O’Callaghan 0-01
Nicky Kenny 0-01

Scorers for Na Piarsaigh:
Shane Dowling 0-06 (4f)
Peter Casey 1-02
David Breen 1-01
Adrian Breen 0-04
Kevin Downes 0-04
David Dempsey 0-02

1. Sean Brennan
2. Oisin Gough
3. Cian O’Callaghan
19. Paul Schurtte
7. John Sheanon
6. Sean Moran
5. Darragh O’Connell
12. Colum Sheanon
9. Sean Treacy
8. Jake Malone
11. Colm Cronin
12. David Treacy
15. Nicky Kenny
14. Con O’Callaghan
13. Mark Schutte

18. Shane Stapleton for John Sheanon (48)
22. Niall Carty for Nicky Kenny (53)
20. Cian Waldron for Jake Malone (61)
8. Jake Malone for Waldron (start of extra-time)
15. Nicky Kenny for Niall Carty (start of extra-time)
4. Simon Timlin for Seán Treacy (66)
30. Diarmuid O’Flynn for Colm Cronin (inj) (68)
9. Seán Treacy for Nicky Kenny (75)

Na Piarsaigh
1. Podge Kennedy
5. Alan Dempsey
3. Mike Casey
2. Jerome Boylan
4. Niall Buckley
6. Cathal King (captain)
7. Kieran Kennedy
10. Ronan Lynch
9. William O’Donoghue
8. Shane Dowling
11. David Breen
12. David Dempsey
13. Adrian Breen
14. Kevin Downes
15. Peter Casey

17. Mike Foley for Niall Buckley (70)
19. Gordon Brown for Jerome Boylan (76)
20. Kevin Ryan for Kieran Kennedy (80)

(image credit: AIB GAA via Twitter)