Colin Currie And Paddy Smyth Shortlisted For U21 Team Of The Year


Team Of The Year - BGE

Dublin’s four games in Leinster U21 Championship enough to add two to Team Of The Year Shortlist


This week the shortlist for the Bord Gáis Energy U21 Hurling Team of the Year for 2018 were announced. Two proud Dubs have been selected in the shortlist, in both the Full-Back and Full-Forward line.

Clontarf defender Paddy Smyth has had a phenomenal year for Dublin. Smyth started all four of Dublin’s U21 Leinster Championship games as Full-Back and was a thorn in the side of the Laois, Carlow and Westmeath attack. Despite losing to Wexford in the provincial semi final, Smyth was praised for his performance. In addition Paddy lined out for Pat Girloy’s Senior Hurlers on more than one occasion this year and is certainly deserving of his nomination.

Colin Currie from Na Fianna was outstanding in the Full Forward line this year, scoring 0-08 from Round 1 to the Quarter Finals of the competition. And his 2-07 against Wexford ran Dublin very close to a win. Currie shared the top scorer slot that day with Wexford Seamus Casey who registered 0-10, and is also shortlisted in the forward line.

The Breakdown by County

Munster champions Cork have pipped All-Ireland winners Tipperary and Leinster champions Galway with the largest share among the nominees for Team of the Year.

In total 11 Cork men make the list while Tipp and the Tribesmen both have nine players each included. Leinster runners-up Wexford have six players on the forty-five-man shortlist.

Limerick, Waterford and Kilkenny are all represented by two players on the list along with Dublin. The remaining two places go to Carlow and Westmeath.

The U21 Player of the Year nominees have also been announced. Tipperary’s Ger Browne and Jake Morris will compete against one another along with Galway’s Fintan Burke and Cork’s Mark Coleman for the accolade. Last year’s winner of the prestigious accolade was Limerick’s Aaron Gillane who was central to his team’s All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship success last month.

The U21 Team of the Year and Player of the Year nominees were picked by a panel of judges chaired by Bord Gáis Energy Sports Ambassador Ger Cunningham alongside #HurlingToTheCore Ambassador Joe Canning, Waterford legend Ken McGrath and TG4’s Micheál Ó Domhnaill.

The winners of the Bord Gáis Energy U-21 Team of the Year and Player of the Year will be announced on Wednesday 17 October when the B Championship Player of the Year will also be announced. Winners will receive their awards on Friday 19 October at a special ceremony in Dublin.

Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year Shortlist

Goalkeepers: Billy Nolan (Waterford), Barry Hogan (Tipperary), Ger Collins (Cork).

Right Corner Back: Paddy Smyth (Dublin), David Lowney (Cork), Damien Reck (Wexford).

Full Back: Darren Byrne (Wexford), Jack Fitzpatrick (Galway), Brian McGrath (Tipperary).

Left Corner Back: Killian O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Shane Bannon (Galway), Niall O’Leary (Cork).

Right Half Back: Fintan Burke (Galway), Conor Prunty (Waterford), Billy Hennessy (Cork).

Centre Back: Kyle Hayes (Limerick), Make Coleman (Cork), Robert Byrne (Tipperary).

Left Half Back: Dylan Quirke (Tipperary), Jack Grealish (Galway), Ian Carty (Wexford).

Midfield: Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), Richie Leahy (Kilkenny), Tom Monaghan (Galway), Seán Loftus (Galway), Ger Browne (Tipperary), Conor Cahalane (Cork).

Right Half Forward: Brian Ryan (Limerick), Robbie O’Flynn (Cork), Joe O’Connor (Wexford).

Centre Forward: Jerome Cahill (Tipperary), Rory O’Connor (Wexford), Declan Dalton (Cork).

Left Half Forward: Killian Doyle (Wesmeath), Cianan Fahy (Galway), Shane Kingston (Cork).

Right Corner Forward: Jake Morris (Tipperary), Kevin Cooney (Galway), Colin Currie (Dublin).

Full Forward: Tim O’Mahoney (Cork), John Donnelly (Kilkenny), Mark Kehoe (Tipperary).

Left Corner Forward: Simon Casey (Wexford), Evan Niland (Galway), Chris Nolan (Carlow).