Cuala 1-13

Kilmacud Crokes 0-13

Cuala have once again defeated their south side rivals Kilmacud Crokes to win their third successive county final. The boys in red from Dalkey are now all set for a Leinster Quarter Final, facing Dicksboro or James Stephens who square off tomorrow in the Kilkenny Senior Hurling Final.

Darragh O’Connell’s 19th minute goal was ultimately the difference between the sides in an thoroughly enthralling contest.

David Treacy was substituted but returned to the playing field in a masterstroke move to seal the tie for Cuala in the dying stages of the game.

Lorcan McMullan drew first blood for Crokes from the games throw in with a beautiful score and the Stillorgan men certainly had the better of the opening exchanges at 0-04 to 0-01 in the first 10 minutes of play. Oisin O’Rorke, Fergal Whitely and Seanie McGrath all finding the target.

But David Treacy (2) and Mark Schutte weren’t long closing that gap to one score before O’Connell raised the green flag. Colm Cronin sent a high ball into the area and O’Connell got on the end of it as it broke and rocketed the ball over Eoin Dalton’s head into the top of the net.

Both defences were on form this afternoon with a relatively low scoring remainder to the first half. Treacy and Con O’Callaghan added two more for Cuala, while O’Rorke added the second of his 0-07, as did Fergal Whitely to keep the gap to 0-02 at the break.

It was O’Rorke who opened the scoring in the second half with another 2 clinical frees to tie the game on 5 minutes. A foul on Mark Schutte gave Cuala the opportunity to put light between the sides once more but David Treacy’s massive penalty attempt was deflected by Dalton and sent out for a ’65 which Treacy converted to edge back into the lead.

Minutes later Treacy again had yet another shot on goal, this time from play but struck it centimetres wide. Colum Sheanon pointed a beautiful score from play to put another between the sides.

Crokes will look back on the second half and rue their wide count as their next three attempts all went the wrong side of the uprights, Fergal Whitely (2) and Damien Kelly both unsuccessful with their conversions.

O’Callaghan and Cronin added a brace for Cuala putting 0-04 between them, but O’Rorke responded with one of his own from play, which was probably Crokes best chance at a goal in the second half.

O’Callaghan showed his skill with an effortless catch and turn point, and Ross O’Carroll responded with a score, similar to the long ball he rolled over in their Semi Final against Lucan. Seconds later Whitely finally broke the wide curse sending a beautiful score over the bar to bring Crokes within 0-02.

Two Cronin and O’Rorke scores cancelled each other out as the game edged closer to the 4 minutes additional time added. And it would be O’Rorke who would score the first of that period to bring the game back to 0-01 and everything to play for.

But Mattie Kenny threw Treacy back on after removing him only 5 minutes beforehand and the Cuala dead ball specialist scored the last two of the day, again putting 0-03 between them, and crown Cuala as Dublin Senior Hurling Champions for the third year in a row.

Cuala Scorers:

David Treacy 0-06 (4f, 1 ’65)

Con O’Callaghan 0-03

Darragh O’Connell 1-00

Colm Cronin 0-02

Mark Schutte 0-01

Colum Sheanon 0-01

Kilmacud Crokes Scorers:

Oisin O’Rorke 0-07 (5f)

Fergal Whitely 0-03

Lorcan McMullan 0-01

Sean McGrath 0-01

Ross O’Carroll 0-01


1. Sean Brennan

2. Simon Timlin

3. Cian O’Callaghan

4. Oisin Gough

5. John Sheanon

6. Sean Moran

7. Paul Schutte

8. Jake Malone

9. Darragh O’Connell

10. Sean Treacy

11. Colm Cronin

12. David Treacy

13. Colum Sheanon

14. Con O’Callaghan

15. Mark Schutte


Cuala Substitutions:

Shane Stapleton for Mark Schutte (41st Min)

Cian Waldron for David Treacy (59th Min)

Nicky Kenny for Colum Sheanon (65th Min)

David Treacy for Colm Cronin (65th Min)

Kilmacud Crokes: 

1. Eoin Dalton

2. Niall Corcoran

3. Bill O’Carroll

20. Robert O’Loughlin

5. Robert Murphy

6. Ross O’Carroll

7. Damien Kelly

8. Lorcan McMullan

9. Cian MacGabhann

10. Naomhan O’Riordain

11. Fergal Whitely

12. Caolan Conway

13. Oisin O’Rorke

14. Barry O’Rorke

15. Sean McGrath


Kilmacud Crokes Substitutions:

Ronan Hayes for Naomhan O’Riordain (38th Min)

Dillon Mulligan for Barry O’Rorke (44th Min)

Stevie O’Dwyer for Sean McGrath (52nd Min)

Jim Gibbons for Robert O’Loughlin (60th Min)