Dublin Senior A Hurling Championship

Last year’s Senior A Hurling Finalist both clear Quarter Final Hurdle


Parnell Park. Sunday, September 23rd.

Kilmacud Crokes and Cuala join St. Vincents and Ballyboden St. Enda’s in this year’s Dublin Senior A Hurling Championship Semi Finals. And with Cuala to face Crokes, it means there won’t be a repeat of last year’s final.

Kilmacud Crokes 0-19
St. Judes 0-14

Anthony Daly’s Crokes men have yet again reached another Senior A Semi Final after a solid victory over St. Judes this afternoon in Parnell Park. Oisin O’Rorke’s 0-06 (3f) helped his side get over Judes, and he was ably assisted by corner forward Ronan Hayes and full forward Marc Howard.

Crokes settled in from the opening throw in as Ronan Hayes was able to get on the end of countless diagonal balls to cause Judes a lot of trouble. Early scores from Fergal Whitely and a Mark Howard free gave them a good start into the wind.

Howard registered three first-half frees with Hayes and O’Rorke both hitting a brace from play each to lead by three at the break, 0-9 to 0-6.

Kilmacud had to play the entire second half with 14 men as Jamie Clinton was shown a straight red card for an off the ball incident at the very end of the first half. And despite Judes trying to capitalise on Crokes player deficit, Crokes had opened 0-17 to 0-09 lead with 10 minutes left on the clock.

Danny Sutcliffe led a late resurgence closing the gap by 0-17 to 0-12 with eight on the clock. But Caolan Conway pointed to put a stop to Jude’s drive. Fionn O’Riain Broin, who also scored 0-06 today, scored an excellent point, and a brilliant Paul Maguire sideline made it 0-18 to 0-13 inside the last five minutes. But Crokes had done enough to ensure Judes wouldn’t catch them.

Kilmacud Crokes Scorers:

Oisin O’Rorke 0-06
Marc Howard 0-04 (3f)
Ronan Hayes 0-03
Sean McGrath 0-02
Fergal Whitely 0-02
Damien Kelly 0-01
Caolan Conway 0-01

St. Judes Scorers:

Fionn O’Riain Broin 0-06 (4f)
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Eoin McLoughlin 0-01
Tom Devlin 0-01
Ronan Joyce 0-01
Donie Fox 0-01
Paul Maguire 0-1 (1 sideline)


Dublin Senior A Hurling Championship


Cuala 2-26
Lucan Sarsfields 2-13

The quest for Cuala’s fourth consecutive Senior A hurling title is still on the cards as they comfortably beat Lucan Sarsfields in the second of today’s double header games in Parnell Park. And they’ll meet their Final opponents for the last two year’s Kilmacud Crokes in this year’s Semi Finals.

Con O’Callaghan was on the money again today for Mattie Kenny’s side, bagging 1-02 in an accomplished display by the Dalkey side. Cuala blasted into a lead with unanswered scores by Nicky Kenny, Jake Malone and David Treacy. But Lucan finally got off the mark with an Emmet Allen converted free.

The champions were the more superior unit this afternoon, particularly in the first half. David Treacy hit six first-half frees while Con O’Callaghan fired over two fine points from play but it was their greater work-rate and use of possession that set them apart from their opponents.

Even though Lucan registered points through Matt McCaffrey, Paul Crummey and Ciaran Dowling, they struggled to contain the much fancied Cuala. Five points without reply including a brace for centre-back Sean Moran provided Cuala with a comprehensive 0-12 half time buffer (0-16 to 0-4).

Johnny McCaffrey and Dowling dug deep for Lucan, but Cuala continued to pick off scores ruthlessly. Treacy , Mark Schutte and Colum Sheanon re-inforced their supremacy, before O’Callaghan fired past Kevin Roche from an acute angle on 45 minutes.

Credit where credit is due, Lucan refused to lie down and gained a lifeline in the form of late goals by CJ Smith and Chris Crummey. Cuala were determined to finish the contest on a high, though, and Moran buried a final-minute penalty to round off a clinical display.

Scorers for Cuala:

David Treacy 0-09 (8f)
Nicky Kenny 0-05 (1f)
Con O’Callaghan 1-02
Sean Moran 1-02 (1-0 pen, 2f)
Mark Schutte 0-02
Dara O’Connell 0-01
Jake Malone 0-01
Sean Treacy 0-01
Colm Cronin 0-01
Colum Sheanon 0-01
D Flynn 0-01

Scorers for Lucan Sarsfields

Ciaran Dowling 0-06 (3f, 1 ’65)
CJ Smith 1-00
Chris Crummey 1-00
Jack McCaffrey 0-02 (2f)
Matt McCaffrey 0-01
Paul Crummey 0-01
Emmet Allen 0-01(1f)
Emmett O Conghaile 0-01
S McClelland 0-01 (1f)