Cool Headed Cuala Come Out On Top In Senior Hurling Final


Back to back titles for Senior Hurling Champions Cuala as they put in composed finish against Ballyboden St. Endas

Senior Hurling

Cuala 2-20
Ballyboden St. Endas 1-18

It’s a second consecutive Dublin Senior Hurling title for Dalkey side Cuala as they put in an impressive last quarter to see off an strong Ballyboden performance.

Ballyboden were leading by four points at half time, and were still a point up on 1-16 to 1-15 by the second half water break. But Cuala got the better of the remaining exchanges to run out eventual five point winners in a more than exciting clash between the best two in the county.

For much of the game Boden seriously looked like reclaiming the title they’d won back in 2018. But the game changed in the 53rd when Cuala were awarded a penalty for a foul on Con O’Callaghan. Who else but Sean Moran stepped up to the plate, netting the sliotar and giving his side a two point lead. From there they never looked back, outscoring their opponents by three points in the closing stages, even after losing Colum Sheanon.

Boden will have regrets. Conal Keaney scored 1-01, with that goal putting them six points into the lead, but they couldn’t seem to shake a poised and calm Cuala side. The Firehouse road side also saw big performances form Niall and Paul Ryan, scoring four and eight respectively. Aidan Mellett and Conor Dooley also chipped in two each to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Sean Moran again showed his hurling championship calibre, scoring 2-03 for Cuala. And the accuracy of David treacy was once again on display

Cuala Scorers:

David Treacy 0-11 (7f, 1 ’65’)
Sean Moran 2-03 (1-00 pen, 1f)
Jake Malone 0-01
Niall Carty 0-01
Con O’Callaghan 0-01
Colm Cronin 0-01
Mark Schutte 0-01
Nicky Kenny 0-01

Ballyboden St Endas Scorers:

Paul Ryan 0-08 (3f, 1 ‘65’)
Niall Ryan 0-04
Conal Keaney 1-01
Conor Dooley 0-02
Aidan Mellett 0-02
Paul Doherty 0-01


1. Sean Brennan
2. Oisin Gough
3. Cian O’Callaghan
5. Michael Conroy
6. Darragh O’Connell
4. John Sheanon
7. Jake Malone
8. Niall Carty
9. Sean Treacy
10. David Treacy
15. Sean Moran
12. Diarmuid Ó Floinn
11. Con O’Callaghan
14. Mark Schutte
13. Colm Cronin

Cuala Substitutes:

Colum Sheanon for Carty (27)
Simon Timlin for Conroy (36)
Nicky Kenny for Ó Floinn (45)
Liam Murphy for Cronin (65).

Ballyboden St. Endas:

1. Finn McGarry
2. Stephen O’Connor
3. Luke Corcoran
9. James Madden
4. David O’Connor
6. Simon Lambert
5. Shane Durkin
18. Sean McDonnell
11. Niall McMorrow
10. Niall Ryan
14. Paul Doherty
20. Conor Dooley
13. Paul Ryan
12. Conal Keaney
15. Aidan Mellett

Ballyboden St. Endas Substitutes:

David Curtin for Lambert (47)
Pearse Christie for McDonnell (47)
Paddy Dunleavy for S O’Connor (52)
Luke McDwyer for Mellett (56)
Conor McCormack for Doherty (60)