Ballyboden St. Endas Advance After 100 Minutes of Leinster Hurling Action


Nothing could seperate Ballyboden St. Endas and Coolderry in today’s Leinster Senior Hurling Semi Final

Ballyboden St. Endas - Leinster Semi Final

Ballyboden St Enda’s 5-28
Coolderry 5-25

(After Extra Time)

Nearly 100 minutes of the best hurling served up in Parnell Park in quite some time. 63 scores, 10 of those were goals. Four dismissals. And after everything and an amazing challenge from Coolderry, Ballyboden St. Endas march onto the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship Final against Ballyhale Shamrocks on December 2nd.

It took a replay for Boden to beat Kilmacud Crokes in the Dublin County Championship. Extra time was needed when Clonkill came to the capital for the provincial quarter final. And today two session of extra time ran both sides ragged, but Ballyboden’s resilience shone through as Joe Fortunes men ultimately came out on top.

Colm Basquel, who made his first start for Boden this afternoon, was clinical in front of goal, chalking up 3-03 of his side’s tally. While Paul Ryan once again put in a huge shift, scoring 0-14. But Basquel was pivotal to the county champions win, claiming the three late frees that Ryan converted, played a key role in a goal for Conal Keaney and also won the free that Ryan stroked over to force extra-time at the end of the original hour.

Ballyboden St. Endas - Leinster Semi Final

Ballyboden race out of the traps

Coolderry started with a mountain to climb as Boden hammered 2-01 inside 3 minutes of play. Niall Ryan an Colm Basquel were goal scorers launching their side into a n early lead. But Coolderry’s response was as clinical as Ballyboden’s opening, scoring six points on the bounce to announce their intent on this game. Conal Keaney, who was dismissed toward the end of the match on a second yellow, netted his goal in the 25th after the ground work was carved out by Basquel. By the break Ballyboden were up 3-08 to 0-10.

Form the second half whistle Ballyboden pushed their lead out to 0-09 but in an insanely pulsating half Coolderry would net three goals by Conor Molloy, Declan Parlon and Brian Carroll to tie the game with 2 minutes to go. And the visitors nearly stole the win when Kevin Connolly put his side ahead. But Colm Basquel won a free right at the death and Paul Ryan converted to force extra time with the final score at 4-17 to 3-20.

Extra Time and Extra Extra Time

Basquel had registered his second goal in the 46th minute after a brilliant solo run. And his third came in extra-time, though Brian Carroll sneaked his second for Coolderry to leave them level after extra-time on 5-22 to 4-25.

So, that meant the Parnell Park crowd were in for another 10 minutes of hurling split into two five-minute halves. And Boden eventually came out on top by outscoring Coolderry 0-6 to 1-0 in this period. Ryan got five of these six points though both sides were reduced in numbers as the emotion got the better of the teams and resulted in those dismissals.

Ballyboden St. Endas - Leinster Semi Final

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s:

Paul Ryan 0-14 (11f, 1 65)
Colm Basquel 3-03
Conal Keaney 1-01
Niall Ryan 1-00
Paul Doherty 0-03
David Curtin 0-02
Shane Durkin 0-02
Stephen O’Connor 0-02
Aidan Mellett 0-01

Scorers for Coolderry:

Brian Carroll 2-16 (11f)
Daniel Miller 1-01
Declan Parlon 1-01
Stephen Corcoran 1-00 (1-00 pen)
Kevin Connolly 0-03
Mark Bergin 0-01
Cathal Parlon 0-01
William Malone 0-01
Martin Corcoran 0-01

Ballyboden St Enda’s:

1. Conor O’Donoghue
2. James Madden
3. Luke Corcoran
4. Shane Durkin
5. Stephen O’Connor
6. Simon Lambert
7. Dean Curran
8. David O’Connor
9. Niall Ryan
10. Conal Keaney
20. David Curtin
13. Paul Ryan
17. Aidan Mellett
15. Niall McMorrow
24. Colm Basquel

Subs for Ballyboden:

Conor Dooley for Niall Ryan (41)
Paul Doherty for David Curtin (47)
Finn McGarry for Stephen O’Connor (53)
Malachy Travers for Mellett (59)
Mellett for Travers (E/T)
Conor McCormack for Lambert (73)
James Roche for McMorrow (78)


1. Stephen Corcoran
2. Stephen Connolly
3. Trevor Corcoran
4. Stephen Burke
5. Barry Teehan
6. Kevin Brady
7. Brian Kelly
8. Mark Bergin
9. David King
10. Eoghan Parlon
11. Conor Molloy
13. Brian Carroll
14. Martin Corcoran
15. Kevin Connolly
20. Daniel Miller

Subs for Coolderry:

Cathal Parlon for Martin Corcoran (H/T)
Joe Brady for Bergin (47)
Declan Parlon for Miller (47)
William Malone for Trevor Corcoran (49)
Bergin for Kelly (H/T, E/T)
Miller for Molloy (76)