Dublin’s ruthless streak shines through as they Demolish Tyrone to book third consecutive All Ireland Final slot

Dublin 2-17
Tyrone 0-11

Croke Park, August 27th 2017

Reigning All Ireland Football Champions Dublin put on a masterclass to see off the challenge of Tyrone and advance once again to another All Ireland Final. Con O’Callaghan and Eoghan O’Gara both scored three pointers to take the game from Mickey Harte’s side as Dublin picked apart their defensive structure.

The Dubs had one plan. Go defensive and they’ll play keep-ball, grind you down and carefully work scores. Leave yourself open at the back and they’ll rip you to threads.

Unfortunately for Tyrone they opted for the defensive, but there was no way to stop Dublin’s formidable forward unit, no matter how many bodies they had back. Dublin made over 300 hand-passes and held onto possession for lengthy spells. It almost seemed like a different sport to the Kerry-Mayo game that had happened a day earlier.

The decibel levels in Croke Park went soaring skyward when Diarmuid Connolly was summed from the bench for a run out in the 69th minute, but the game was well and truly over. Con O’Callaghan registered 1-2 as well as giving the final pass for Eoghan O’Gara’s goal four minutes from time.

Peter Harte’s penalty, which was saved by Stephen Cluxton, in stoppage-time summed up Tyrone’s day. In what was his final game in a Tyrone jersey, Sean Cavanagh was substituted after an ineffectual 55 minutes. It was nothing close to the the farewell he’d have dreamed of, but the Dublin team made sure at the final whistle that Cavanagh would receive the respect of the entire panel for his contribution to the game.

Scorers for Dublin:

Con O’Callaghan 1-02
Dean Rock 0-05 (4f)
Paul Flynn 0-03
Eoghan O’Gara 1-01
Paddy Andrews 0-02
Jack McCaffrey 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Paul Mannion 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01

Scorers for Tyrone:

Peter Harte 0-04 (3f)
Niall Sludden 0-02
Colm Cavanagh 0-02
Sean Cavanagh 0-01 (1f)
Tiernan McCann 0-01
Declan McClure 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Philly McMahon
3. Cian O’Sullivan
4. Michael Fitzsimons
5. Jonny Cooper
6. John Small
7. Jack McCaffrey
8. Brian Fenton
9. James McCarthy
10. Ciarán Kilkenny
11. Con O’Callaghan
21. Niall Scully
13. Paul Mannion
14. Paddy Andrews
15. Dean Rock


22. Paul Flynn for Scully (44)
24. Kevin McManamon for Andrews (45)
25. Eoghan O’Gara for Rock (62)
12. Eirc Lowndes for Mannion (66)
20. Diarmuid Connolly for O’Callaghan (69)


1. Niall Morgan
2. Aidan McCrory
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Cathal McCarron
5. Tiernan McCann
6. Pádraig Hampsey
7. Peter Harte
8. Colm Cavanagh
9. Conall McCann
10. David Mulgrew
11. Niall Sludden
12. Kieran McGeary
13. Mark Bradley
14. Sean Cavanagh
15. Matthew Donnelly


21. Declan McClure for Conall McCann (29)
18. Rory Brennan for McGeary (ht)
22. Darren McCurry for Mulgrew (41)
26. Ronan O’Neill for Bradley (49)
25. Conor Meyler for Sean Cavanagh (55)
24. Padraid McNulty for McNamee (60)

Referee: David Goldrick (Meath)

(Video credit: GAANOW via YouTube)