Video: Ballyboden St. Endas v Na Fianna – Dublin SFC Quarter Final


Basquel Brothers Help Ballyboden to Quarter Final Victory Over Na Fianna

Ballyboden St. Endas 3-13
Na Fianna 0-15

Sunday was Ballyboden St. Endas day as they swept away the challenge of Na Fianna in their Dublin Senior Football Quarter Final. Even losing Michael Darragh Macauley to a second yellow card with 10 minutes to go couldn’t stop the momentum.

The Basquel brothers, Ryan and Colm, registered 3-06 between them to see them advance to their first semi final since winning the county championship in 2015. And after that they went onto capture both the Leinster and All Ireland Championship.

There was no separating the sides through the first quarter and on 18 minutes there were four scores a piece. Ryan Basquel scoring 0-03 and the other score from Aran Waters. On the other side Conor McHugh had registered three of Na Fianna’s 0-04 with Michael Deegan taking the remaining score.

But in a five minutes spell Ballyboden opened up and attacked ferociously. Ryan Basquel found the net first and that followed quickly by three unanswered scores from his brother Colm, Conal Keaney and Darren O’Reilly.

Conor McHugh converted a score to lift Na Fianna, but a minute later Ballyboden were in green flag territory thanks to a Colm Basquel shot. And with two more scores from Keaney and Basquel they went in at the break ahead 2-09 to 0-06.

Boden Keep their heads

Eoin Murchan was replaced at Half Time to injury which didn’t help Na Fianna’s cause. Michael Deegan did open the scoring but within 2 minutes of the restart Boden were awarded a penalty which Ryan Basquel perfectly converted. And once again they capitalised, with Basquel and Robbie McDaid following with 0-02.

Na Fianna did find a purple patch for the middle third with 0-05 unanswered from McHugh (2), Sean Caffrey and Deegan (2) but that was really only because Ballyboden started to sit deep and protect their lead, allowing Na Fianna to pick some score off.

In the last 10 minutes Boden lost Macauley to a second yellow and Cathal Flaherty to a black card, but na Fianna failed to capitalise on the player deficit. Deegan, O’Reilly and McHugh ended the scoring for the Mobhi Road men, but Ryan Basquel and Conal Keaney added two more to Boden’s 3-11 to put the game out of reach of Na Fianna.

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s:

Ryan Basquel 2-04 (1-00 pen, 1f)
Colm Basquel 1-02
Conal Keaney 0-02
Darren O’Reilly 0-02
Robbie McDaid 0-01
Shane Clayton 0-01
Aran Waters 0-01

Scorers for Na Fianna:

Conor McHugh 0-07 (4f)
Michael Deegan 0-05 (3f)
Sean Caffrey 0-01
James Doran 0-01
Glen O’Reilly 0-01

Ballyboden St Enda’s:

1. Darragh Gogan
23. Cathal Flaherty
17. Aran Waters
4. Shane Clayton
5. Robbie McDaid
6. Darragh Nelson
7. Shane Durkin
8. Declan O’Mahoney
9. Michael D Macauley
10. Darren O’Reilly
11. Colm Basquel
12. Sean Gibbons
13. Ross McGarry
14. Ryan Basquel
15. Conal Keaney

Ballyboden St Enda’s Substitutes:

19. Alan Flood for Ross McGarry (37)
22. James Holland for Declan O’Mahoney (54)
20. Donogh McCabe for Darren O’Reilly (58)
25. Kieran Kennedy for Cathal Flaherty (black-card, 61)
18. Sam Moloney for Conal Keaney (62)

Na Fianna:

1. David O’Hanlon
2. Philip Smith
3. Farrell Aughney
4. Senan Coughlan
5. Jonny Cooper
6. Eoin Murchan
7. Eoin O’Dea
8. Aengus Farrell
9. JJ Martin
10. Sean Caffrey
11. Michael Deegan
12. Glenn O’Reilly
13. Aaron Byrne
14. Conor McHugh
15. James Doran

Na Fianna Substitutes:

26. Paul O’Hanlon for Eoin Murchan (H/T)
26. Killian Deeley for Aengus Farrell (33)
17. Alasdar Fitzgerald for JJ Martin (33)
23. Eoin Connolly for Philip Smith (39)
19. David Quinn for James Doran (46)
30. Tim Foran for Sean Caffrey (58)

Video credit: DUBSTV via YouTube