Tom Gray’s U20 Footballers put in convincing show over Longford to secure their Leinster Championship Semi Final slot

Leinster Championship - Dublin v Longford

Dublin 3-10
Longford 0-09

Goals win games and yesterday afternoon Dublin put three past Longford’s Eoin McGuinness in a convincing performance in Parnell Park. The result sees them set up a Leinster Championship Semi Final place against near rivals Meath.

Late green flags from Ciaran Archer and Conor Kinsella gave the reigning provincial champions a strong finish, leaving Longford 10 points adrift. But in high winds and driving rain Tom Gray’s side struggled to shake their opponents, and the sides were level at half time. But five unanswered score after the break saw the Dubs pull away from Longford.

With just three minutes of normal time remaining there was only three points between the sides. Ciaran Archer, who’s picking up where he left off last season bagged a goal to push their lead out further. Luke Murphy Guinane added a point before Conor Kinsella tapped in from close range after some great work from Luke Swan.

Archer, last year’s Eirgrid Player Of The Year, added 1-04 to his ever growing tally. He was unlucky to not add more with one goal chance saved by McGuinness, another hitting the post, and a point chance also bouncing off the upright.

In the opening half Lorcan O’Dell grabbed Dublin’s first goal, but a strong fight from Longford saw the sides deadlocked at 1-03 to 0-06 at the break. Dublin powered on in the second half and Longford were unlucky to lose Aidan McGuire to a black card after an earlier booking, leaving them short a man for the final quarter.

Dublin Scorers:

Ciaran Archer 1-04 (3f)
Lorcan O’Dell 1-01
Conor Kinsella 1-00
Evan Caulfield 0-01
Killian McGinnis 0-01
Kieran McKeon 0-01
Padraig Purcell 0-01
Luke Murphy Guinane 0-01

Longford Scorers:

Oran Kenny 0-03 (3f)
Dylan Farrell 0-03 (2f)
Eoghan McCormack 0-01
Dario Ciglianio 0-01
Aaron Farrell 0-01


1. Josh O’Neill
2. Alan Murphy
3. Adam Rafter
4. Josh Bannon
5. Rory Dwyer
6. Adam Waddick
7. Lee Gannon
8. Killian McGinnis
9. Evan Caulfield
10. Mark Lavin
11. Lorcan O’Dell
12. Sean Foran
13. Ciaran Archer
14. Luke Swan
15. Kieran McKeon

Dublin Substitutes:

Padraig Purcell for McKeon (36)
Luke Murphy Guinane for Foran (52)
Conor Tyrrell for Murphy (55)
Anthony Quinn for Bannon (60)
Conor Kinsella for Gannon (61)


1. Eoin McGuinness
2. Jakub Kajan
3. Sean O’Sullivan
4. Dario Ciglianio
5. Dylan Glancy
6. James Moran
7. Eoghan McCormack
8. Tadhg McKevin
9. Euan Finneran
10. Cian O Nuallain
11. Kian Gilmore
12. Dylan Farrell
13. Joe Hagan
14. Aidan McGuire
15. Oran Kenny

Longford Substitutes:

Darren Moffett for O Nuallain (40)
Aaron Farrell for Finneran (43)
Jake Donnelly for Kajan (48)
Niall Finneran for McCormack (52)