Two for Two As Dublin See Off Limerick In Division 2 Clash

Dean Rock - On The Verge Of history

Goals from Dean Rock and Brian Fenton saw Dublin ease past Limerick to record their second Division 2 victory

Dean Rock - On The Verge Of history

Limerick 1-11
Dublin 2-17
TUS Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

Dublin’s bid for promotion back to Division 1 in the Allianz Football League took another positive step this afternoon as they made light work of Limerick to record a second win, and their first on the road this year. Leading by 0-13 at half time gave Dessie Farrell’s side a comfortable margin, which allowed Limerick to enjoy a better second half performance.

The Dublin boss took advantage of today’s tie to mix youth and experience again. Con O’Callaghan and Ross McGarry were on form from the throw in. O’Callaghan was awarded a penalty early which Dean Rock gladly converted to give Dublin a 1-06 to 0-01. Limerick found scores from James Naughton and Ray Dempsey, but the Munster side could only match Dublin for small spells in the game. And by the half time break the score stood at 2-12 to 0-05 with Brian Fenton palming home from a rebound after O’Callaghan had laid the ground work.

Limerick certainly started the second half better with substitute Hugh Bourke finding the net. They hit three unanswered points while Dublin went 18 minutes without a score before Dean Rock ended the drought. Killian O’Gara, O’Callaghan and Rock added to the scoreboard while Limerick struggled after losing Killian Ryan to a black card midway through the half.

It was a straight forward win for Dessie Farrell’s charges. And the first of their two Munster Division 2 trips, as they return to Cork in two weeks time. Limerick will head to Leinster to face well known opponents Louth in their next tie.

Scorers for Limerick:

James Naughton 0-05 (4f)
Hugh Bourke 1-01
Cian Sheehan 0-02
Adrian Enright 0-02
Iain Corbett 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 1-05 (1-00 pen, 3f)
Ross McGarry 0-04
Con O’Callaghan 0-04
Brian Fenton 1-00
Lorcan O’Dell 0-01
Craig McEneaney 0-01
Dáire Newcombe 0-01
Killian O’Gara 0-01


1. Donal O’Sullivan
2. David Connolly
3. Séan O’Dea
4. Barry Coleman
5. Brian Fanning
6. Cillian Fahy
7. Michael O’Donovan
8. Cian Sheehan
9. Iain Corbett
10. Paul Maher
11. James Naughton
12. Gordon Browne
13. Adrian Enright
14. Colm McSweeney
15. Davy Lyons

Limerick Substitutes:

17. Hugh Bourke for Lyons (22)
26. Killian Ryan for Sheehan (HT)
24. Peter Nash for Browne (57)
21. Tony McCarthy for Donovan (60)
18. Robbie Bourke for Enright (68)


1. David O’Hanlon
3. Seán MacMahon
2. Cian Murphy
24. Dáire Newcombe
5. Lee Gannon
4. Greg McEneaney
11. Tom Lahiff
8. Brian Fenton
9. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Bryne
10. Niall Scully
13. Ross McGarry
12. Ciaran Kilkenny
25. Lorcan O’Dell
14. Dean Rock
15. Con O’Callaghan

Dublin Substitutes:

17. Colm Basquel for O’Dell (45)
26. Killian O’Gara for McGarry (60)
21. Adam Fearon for Gannon (64)
6. Sean Lowry for O’Callaghan (65)
23. Ben Millist for McEneaney (69)