Dessie Farrell rings the changes as Dublin face rivals Meath tomorrow in the Leinster Semi Final

Leinster Semi Final - Dublin v Meath

Dublin v Meath
Sunday, July 18th. 4:30pm
Croke Park, Dublin

All Ireland champions Dublin will renew their rivalry with their nearest and dearest neighbours Meath tomorrow in the Leinster Semi Final. And the first challenge for Meath manager Andy McEntee will be to try and get his players to look beyond the scars inflicted in last year’s Leinster final.

Add in a good victory for the Dublin U20 Footballers at Páirc Tailteann on Thursday and it’s a hard time to be a Meath supporter living close to Dublin. Particularly if you’re old enough to remember an era when Meath were very much in the ascendency in this rivalry.

Dublin’s seven point win over Wexford last time out was their smallest margin of victory in a Leinster senior football championship tie since the2013 decider, against Meath. Paul Flynn and Paul Mannion struck goals for Dublin on that occasion. And that goalscoring touch will prove vital for Dessie Farrell’s side. So far, the seven-in-a-row chasing Dubs haven’t quite been at their brilliant best in 2021. So the longer they go in this game without raising a green flag, the longer Meath will feel that an upset is possible.

Earlier this evening, Dublin boss Dessie Farrell announced three changes to the side that started against Wexford in the last round. Philly McMahon, Tom Lahiff and Colm Basquel come into tomorrow’s starting 15, with Robert McDaid, Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne and Ryan Basquel making way.

Dublin Senior Football Starting 15 (v Meath)

1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
5. Tom Lahiff (St. Judes)
6. Brian Howard (Raheny)
7. Seán McMahon (Raheny)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
10. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
13. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)