Cluxton Wins Goalkeeper All Star And Player Of The Year Award

Dublin Captain Stephen Cluxton won the 2019 Player of the Year Award at the PwC All Stars Awards

Dublin Captain Stephen Cluxton won the 2019 Player of the Year award at this evenings PwC GAA/GPA All Star Awards night at the Convention Centre in Dublin.

It was a double celebration for Dublin’s Number 1 as he also won the goalkeeper All Star award on the 2019 PwC GAA/GPA All Star football team.

Cluxton became the sixth Dublin player this decade to scoop the Player of the Year award with the previous winners Alan and Bernard Brogan, Michael Darragh Macauley, Jack McCaffrey and Brian Fenton.

Six of Stephen’s history making five in a row Dublin teammates also made the 2019 All Stars team, Michael Fitzsimons, Brian Howard and Jack McCaffrey in the defence, Brian Fenton in midfield and Paul Mannion and Con O’Callaghan in the forwards.

It’s the sixth time in his career that Cluxton has won the goalkeeper All Star award, he won his last one six years ago.

All Ireland finalists Kerry have four representatives on the All Stars team, Tom O’Sullivan, David Moran, Sean O’Shea and David Clifford. Tyrone’s Ronan McNamee and Cathal McShane are selected and Donegal’s Michael Murphy and Mayo’s Patrick Durcan complete this years team.

The 2019 Young Player of the Year Award went to Kerry’s Sean O’Shea.

2019 PwC GAA/GPA Football All Stars Team

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)

3. Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)

4. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

5. Paddy Durcan (Mayo)

6. Brian Howard (Dublin)

7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

9. David Moran (Kerry)

10. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

11. Sean O’Shea (Kerry)

12. Michael Murphy (Donegal)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Cathal McShane (Tyrone)

15. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

2019 Footballer Of The Year

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2019 Young Footballer Of The Year

Sean O’Shea (Kerry)