St Judes Player Breaking Away From His Ballymun Kickhams Marker


St Judes 2-09
Ballymun Kickhams 1-11


A late goal by Chris Guckian turned this Dublin SFC quarter final on its head and paved the way for St Judes to sensationally knock Ballymun Kickhams out at the death.

With five minutes to go Ballymun looked to be on their way to the semi finals as they held a 1-10 to 1-06 lead.

But Guckian’s goal in the 57th minute brought the sides level and in the third minute of injury time Niall O’Shea played in Kieran Doherty who swung over the winning point.

Ballymun will be kicking themselves for failing to close out the game and question will be asked about the late substitutions of key players Philly McMahon and Jason Whelan.


St Judes Got Off To The Perfect Start Inside Two Minutes


Judes got off to the perfect start in the game with a goal inside the opening two minutes.

Kevin McManamon left his marker Dublin teammate John Small for dead and hit a perfect hand pass across the goal for Niall Coakley to palm the ball to the net.

The Ballymun reaction to that early setback though was emphatic as they controlled proceedings for the next twenty minutes.



A brace of points from Paddy Small and one from Dean Rock brought the sides level by the 12th minute.

A free from Padraic Clarke seconds later put Judes back in front. But in the 19th minute Ballymun were awarded a penalty for a foot-block on a Dean Rock effort on goal.

Rock took the resultant spot kick and buried it to the back of the net and Kickhams led by two.

As the game headed for the short whistle St Judes pushed to reduce the deficit and they were rewarded for a spell of dominant possession with three points on the bounce.

Judes number five Tom Lahiff hit a nice point from play and two converted frees in the space of a minute from Padraic Clarke and Niall Coakley put the men from Templeogue into a one point lead again.

But two minutes into first half injury time Ballymun were awarded a free and it was dispatched with ease by Rock to leave the sides tied at the break at 1-04 apiece.

Coakley and Rock exchanged frees in the opening minute of the second half. But it was Ballymun who controlled the third quarter of the game to seize control.



Ballymun Looked To Have A Big Enough Cushion To Claim The Win


Points from Ted Furman, Rock and Carl Keeley put the northside club three to the good.

A point from Coakley reduced the deficit, but two more points from Dean Rock, one from play and the other from a free looked to have given Ballymun a big enough cushion to claim the win.

With five minutes to go Tom Lahiff broke forward again to grab his second point of the contest to leave a goal between the sides.

And in the 57th minute Judes drew a huge roar from their supporters when Chris Guckian burst through the Kickhams defence to hit a brilliant goal and bring parity between the teams.

Down the other end Paddy Small won a free for Ballymun and Dean Rock converted. But the Judes tails were up and as the game entered injury time Niall Coakley held his nerve to convert a free and it was all square again.

A draw looked on the cards but Judes completed the shock win when Niall O’Shea played a nice pass to Kieran Doherty who slotted the ball between the posts to snatch the victory at the death.

Ballymun will go away from this one wondering how they didn’t finish the game off with only minutes remaining.

But that won’t matter a bit to St Judes who are now just sixty odd minutes away from their first senior county final appearance in nine years.



Ballymun Kickhams Scorers:


Dean Rock 1-07 (4f, 1-00 pen)
Paddy Small 0-02
Ted Furman 0-01
Carl Keeley 0-01


St. Judes Scorers:


Niall Coakley 1-04 (3f)
Chris Guckian 1-00
Padraic Clarke 0-02
Tom Lahiff 0-02
Kieran Doherty 0-01


Ballymun Kickhams:


1. Evan Comerford
2. Alan George
3. Philly McMahon
4. Eoin Dolan
5. Carl Deely
6. John Small
7. Alan Hubbard
8. James McCarthy
9. Davey Byrne
10. Conor Kavanagh
11. Jason Whelan
12. Aaron Elliot
13. Ted Furnam
14. Paddy Small
15. Dean Rock


Ballymun Kickhams Substitutions:


21. Daragh Conlon for Conor Kavanagh (45th Min)
17. Fiach Andrews for Philly McMahon (49th Min)
25. Dillon Keating for Jason Whelan (57th Min)


St Judes:


1. Liam Mailey
2. Oisin Manning
3. Ciaran Fitzgerald
4. Cillian O’Reilly
5. Tom Lahiff
6. Niall O’Shea
7. Chris Guckian
8. Mark Sweeney
9. Seamus Ryan
10. Tom Devlin
11. Barry Fitzgerald
12. Kieran Doherty
13. Niall Coakley
14. Kevin McManamon
15. Padraic Clarke


St. Judes Substitutions:


17. Simon King for Barry Fitzgerald (H/T)
19. Ronan Joyce for Tom Devlin (H/T)
18. Andy Sweeney for Oisin Manning (56th Min)