Dublin suffered their first League defeat as Rory Brennan finds the net for Tyrone giving them the win

Rory Brennan Strikes Late for Tyrone

Tyrone 1-10
Dublin 1-07

In a nip and tuck game, in horrendous conditions in Omagh, Rory Brennan struck late for the home side, seeing Tyrone bounce back from a huge defeat last week against Galway.

This was Dublin’s first league defeat, and one they could easily have won. But again the Dubs looked like they were missing something and couldn’t close out the game. And it was to their detriment.

Substitute Kevin McManamon had a late opportunity to put the parity in the sides but failed. Now Dublin will need to secure results against Meath and Galway to stay in the hunt for a League Final slot.

Tonight was no night for playing football, but the show went on and it was Tyrone who got the last applause. Goalkeeper Niall Morgan earned his player of the match award with his accuracy in the driving winds.

The sides finished the first half level. Colm Basquel had given Dublin an early lead with a goal in the first minute. Brian Fenton, surrounded by Tyrone shirts, released the ball to Basquel who slotted the ball past Morgan.

Conor Meyler got Tyrone on the board in the 14th, and by the end of the first quarter Rory Brennan added a second. Peter Harte and Darren McCurry linked up to play Liam Rafferty on for their third and on 22 minutes Morgan had tied the game. A Dublin lead from a Dean Rock converted free was short lived as Harte worked the ball back down the field, scoring a magnificent point in the high wind.

Dublin could have finished the half behind if Rafferty’s close range shot hadn’t hit the crossbar. And with Morgan watching another free drift wide it signalled the break and a fair account of the half.

Neck and neck before Tyrone strike late for the win

Tyrone were temporarily reduced to 14 men on the restart. Before the whistle was blown Padraig Hampsey was shown a black card for his involvement in a tunnel incident at the break. But it was Tyrone who struck first as Peter Harte recorded his second score.

Cillian O’Shea got his first League score for Dublin with a fisted ball following a pass from Paul Mannion. Niall Scully struck a massive point to give Dublin the advantage with four minutes played. Yellow cards for Michael Fitzsimons, Sean Bugler and Michael McKernan broke up a baron spell of play after Dean Rock had put Dublin two ahead.

Darren McCurry got Tyrone’s second point of the half after Paul Mannion conceded a foul on Colm Cavanagh. And when Dean Rock was deemed to have hit Conor Meyler high, it gave Niall Morgan a chance to draw the sides level once again. And Morgan repeated the fete from the restart as Niall Scully saw a black card.

Substitute Jack McCaffrey was held back on a run giving Dean Rock the chance to level the sides again. And when Niall Morgan put Tyrone back in front, Kyle Coney fouled Brian Fenton running forward for Rock to score the resulting free.

But Dublin suffered a blow in the 69th as Rory Brennan, who had threatened before found a gap and put the ball past Comerford into the net to give Tyrone a three score cushion.

Tyrone Scorers:

Niall Morgan 0-04 (4f)
Rory Brennan 1-01
Peter Harte 0-02
Darren McCurry 0-01 (1f)
Liam Rafferty 0-01
Conor Meyler 0-1

Dublin Scorers:

Dean Rock 0-04 (4f)
Colm Basquel 1-00
Cillian O’Shea 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Niall Scully 0-01


1. Niall Morgan
2. Michael Cassidy
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Liam Rafferty
5. Michael McKernan
6. Rory Brennan
7. Michael O’Neill
8. Colm Cavanagh
9. Padraig Hampsey
10. Frank Burns
11. Niall Sludden
12. Darren McCurry
13. Peter Harte
14. Brian Kennedy
15. Conor Meyler

Tyrone Substitutes:

Tiernan McCann for O’Neill (45)
Kyle Coney for Sludden (60)
Ronan O’Neill for McKernan (66)
Niall Kelly for Hampsey (72)


1. Evan Comerford
2. Michael Fitzsimons
25. Eoin O’Brien
4. David Byrne
5. Eoin Murchan
18. Colm Basquel
7. Cillian O’Shea
8. Brian Fenton
9. James McCarthy
10. Brian Howard
11. Sean Bugler
12. Niall Scully
13. Paul Mannion
14. Ciaran Kilkenny
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

Cormac Costello for Scully (HT)
Jack McCaffrey for O’Brien (HT)
Kevin McManamon for Bugler (47)
John Small for Fitzsimons (49)
Cormac Costello for Basquel (62)
Aaron Byrne for McCaffrey (66)