A new year with familiar faces in Dublin starting 15 for tomorrow’s Allianz League opener against Cavan in Breffni Park. As many as ten players who featured in last year’s All Ireland Final replay against Mayo return to the fold in Jim Gavin’s first selection of the year.

Captain Stephen Cluxton returns, along with defenders Mick Fitzsimons, Philly McMahon, James McCarthy, John Small, Brian Fenton at midfield and forwards Ciarán Kilkenny, Kevin McManamon, Paul Mannion and Dean Rock.

Four other players named to start against the Breffni Blues – David Byrne, Eric Lowndes, Michael Darragh Macauley and Cormac Costello came on as subs in the decisive All-Ireland final.

DUBLIN (v Cavan)

1 Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
2 Mick Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3 Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
4 David Byrne (Nh Olaf)
5 James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6 John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7 Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
8 Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9 Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10 Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11 Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
12 Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
13 Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14 Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge St)
15 Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)