One Change to Dublin Starting 15 For All Ireland Semi Final


Dublin begin the defence of their All Ireland Senior Football Championship with a clash against Cavan at Croke Park this evening.

All Ireland Championship - Dublin v Cavan

Dublin v Cavan
Saturday, December 5th. 5:30pm
Croke Park, Dublin

This evening at Croke Park, the first of this year’s All Ireland Senior Football Semi Finals will throw in as defending champions Dublin will take on Ulster Champions Cavan for the first spot in the 2020 Championship decider. Tomorrow, Mayo and Tipperary will square off to decide the second finalist.

Dublin are of course aiming for the sixth All Ireland title in a row, hoping to keep Sam Maguire in Dublin for another year. In what has been such an unusual year, it feels like only yesterday when Stephen Cluxton walked the Hogan Stand steps as Dublin secured their record five in a row.

Dessie Farrell has this morning named his starting 15 to go head to head with Cavan this evening in Croke Park. And the Dublin manager has made one change to the side that started their Leinster winning showdown against Meath 2 weeks ago.

Jonny Cooper has made way for Brian Howard, who starts in midfield alongside Raheny teammate Brian Fenton.

Since losing to Donegal in the 2014 All Ireland Semi Final, Dublin are unbeaten in the Senior Football Championship. And they’ll want to keep that record by winning a sixth consecutive last four clash this evening. Cavan’s last Semi Final win in the All Ireland was back in 1952 when they beat Cork to reach that year’s Final. The last time they reached an All Ireland Semi Final was 1997 where they were beaten by Kerry on a 1-17 to 1-10 scoreline.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Cavan)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Robert McDaid (Ballyboden St. Endas)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Brian Howard (Raheny)
10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Seán Bugler (St. Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh)
13. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)