On This Day: Dublin v Cork League Final 2015


A rampant Dublin put Cork to the sword on this day in 2015 to secure a third consecutive National League title

Dublin 1-21
Cork 2-07

the memory of Dublin’s defeat in the 2014 All Ireland Championship lingered in the capital over the winter and in to the spring. But on this day in 2015, that memory began to fade as a Jim Gavin’s men triumphantly captured a third football League Division 1 title on the bounce and looked forward to another successful summer.

It seemed all to easy for Dublin, as Cork once again imploded in Croke Park, after beating the Dubs in their league opener in mid January. Dublin were calculated and punishing on this day, hitting Cork for 22 scores. Cork failed to score form open play until Mark Collins snatched a goal in the 48th minute. And while substitute Daniel Goulding registered a second goal for the rebels in the 69th minute, it only represented a tiny consolation.

Dublin proved massively efficient, using the wide open spaces of the Croke Park surface to great effect. They led by 1-09 to 0-05 at the break. They should have been further ahead, but leaked eight wides from very score-able positions. Cork’s five first half scores were all from dead balls.

Jim Gavin’s men were already five scores up before Cork opened their account on 14 minutes. They extended their lead  to 0-07 to 0-04 on the half hour mark. Two more scores followed before a Diarmuid Connolly penalty pushed the lead to eight points. Colm O’Neill finished the half scoring a vital point for Cork.

The rebels came close to scoring a goal in the 38th minute but the effort cannoned off the crossbar. And by the time the registered their 48th minute goal, Dublin had added a further six points and the game was all but done.

Dublin Scorers:

D Rock 0-10 (7f)
C Kilkenny 0-03
D Connolly 1-00 (1-00 pen)
P Andrews 0-02
B Brogan 0-02
K McManamon 0-01
T Brady 0-01
P McMahon 0-01
J McCaffrey 0-01

Cork Scorers:

C O’Neill 0-05 (4f)
D Goulding 1-01 (1 ‘45)
M Collins 1-00
B Hurley 0-01


S Cluxton
P McMahon
R O’Carroll
J Cooper
J McCarthy
C O’Sullivan
J McCaffrey
D Bastick
B Fenton
T Brady
C Kilkenny
D Connolly
D Rock
K McManamon
B Brogan

Dublin Substitutes:

M Fitzsimons for O’Carroll (26)
P Andrews for Brady (46)
E O Conghaile for Bastick (54)
C Costello for Connolly (58)
J Small for McMahon (62)
D Daly for Fenton (64)


K O’Halloran
N Galvin
M Shields
J Loughrey
J O’Sullivan
C Dorman
Tomas Clancy
E Cadogan
F Goold
K O’Driscoll
J O’Rourke
C O’Driscoll
C O’Neill
M Collins
B Hurley

Cork Substitutes:

P Kerrigan for Dorman (26)
D Goulding for O’Rourke (37)
B O’Driscoll for C O’Driscoll (50)
D Og Hodnett for O’Sullivan (52)
J Hayes for Collins (57)
S Cronin for Galvin (63)