O’Gara and Costello Drive Dublin To Victory Over Meath


Killian O’Gara hits 1-03 on his full league debut for Dublin as they see off a spirited Meath in Pairc Tailteann

Cormac Costello

Meath 1-11
Dublin 2-19
Pairc Tailteann, Navan

Dublin stay on course for promotion to Division 1 and a place in the Division 2 Football League Final with a convincing win over Meath this afternoon on the road. Killian O’Gara’s first half goal saw Dublin lead by 9 points which they pushed out to 11 by the full time whistle.

It saw O’Gara, younger brother of former Dublin star Eoin, make his first start of the campaign. And the Templeogue Synge Street man ended his full debut with a tally of 1-03 and snatched the player of the match award.

Dessie Farrell’s men really never looked in danger of securing this win today with Meath suffering another defeat which will worry manager Colm O’Rourke.

Costello and O’Gara bag vital goals at Tailteann

Cormac Costello took on free taking duties this afternoon in teh absence of Dean Rock and was among the early scorers. Scores by the Whitehall man in the 15th and 18th minutes gave Dublin a 0-06 to 0-01 lead. Meath rallied back though a a goal and a pint closed that gap. Matthew Costello hit a point attempt that dropped into the goal behind a back pedalling David O’Hanlon. But Meath would hit a barron spell not registering another score until the 42nd Minute.

Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny sent scores over before O’Gara hit the net in the 35th. With Meath on the attack, James McCarthy was fouled. Eoin Murchan burst up the field playing O’Gara on who finished into the corner of the net.

Despite having the wind advantage in the second half Meath never managed to get a grasp on the game. Five unanswered scores between the 53rd and 60th minutes all but killed the game with Con O’Callaghan bagging three of the five. Half time substitute Aaron Lynch did breath some life into Meath but Cormac Costello’s 75th minute goal gave the scoreboard the final burst of light as Dublin ran out winners by 11 points.

Scorers for Meath:

Matthew Costello 1-02 (1f)
Jack Flynn 0-03 (1 ’45)
Diarmuid Moriarty 0-02 (1f)
Aaron Lynch 0-02
Cathal Hickey 0-01
Donal Lenihan 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Cormac Costello 1-04 (1f, 1 ’45)
Killian O’Gara 1-03
Con O’Callaghan 0-04
Brian Fenton 0-04 (1f)
Lee Gannon 0-02
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Sean Bugler 0-01


1. Harry Hogan
2. Adam O’Neill
3. Michael Flood
4. Harry O’Higgins
5. Donal Keoghan
6. Padraic Harnan
7. Cathal Hickey
8. Ronan Jones
9. Jack Flynn
10. Jack O’Connor
11. Jason Scully
12. Shane Crosby
13. Jordan Morris
14. Mathew Costello
15. Diarmuid Moriarty

Meath Substitutes:

17. Cillian O’Sullivan for O’Connor (HT)
21. Daithi McGowan for Crosby (HT)
22. Aaron Lynch for Morris (HT)
24. Donal Lenihan for Scully (55)
19. Eoin Harkin for Keogan (61)


1. David O’Hanlon
4. Michael Fitzsimons
2. Daire Newcombe
3. David Byrne
6. John Small
22. Eoin Murchan
7. Lee Gannon
5. James McCarthy
8. Brian Fenton
26. Niall Scully
10. Ciaran Kilkenny
9. Tom Lahiff
25. Killian O’Gara
11. Con O’Callaghan
13. Cormac Costello

Dublin Substitutes:

20. Sean Bugler for Scully (28)
19. Brian Howard for Lahiff (55)
17. Colm Basquel for O’Gara (62)
24. Ryan Basquel for O’Callaghan (67)
23. Cian Murphy for Gannon (70)