Westmeath v Dublin
Wednesday, March 1st.
St. Loman’s GAA, Mullingar
Throw In 7:30pm

Tonight the Dublin U21 Football Starting Team was named by manager Dessie Farrell. And Farrell has chosen to include Con O’Callaghan, who plays in the AIB Club Hurling All Ireland Final in just over 2 weeks.

Con, who was not featured for the Dublin Senior Footballers due to club hurling commitments, has been the main draw in the Club Championship this year. Just last week Cuala made history reaching their first Championship Final, and O’Callaghan scored 1-3 from play as the Dalkey club clinched a 3-21 to 2-11 victory against Derry champions Slaughtneil.

He is joined in a talented half-forward line by fellow senior panellist Colm Basquel, who won an All-Ireland club football title with Ballyboden St Enda’s last St Patrick’s Day.

It’s a strong Dublin side as O’Callaghan and Basquel are just two of nine players who featured in last year’s semi-final defeat to Mayo.

DUBLIN U21 TEAM (v Westmeath)
1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
3. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Darren Byrne (Raheny)
5. Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St. Enda’s)
6. Sean McMahon (Raheny)
7. Brian Howard (Raheny)
8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Donal McIlgorm (Skerries Harps)
10. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
12. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)
13. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)
14. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)
15. Tom Fox (Kilmacud Crokes)