Walsh Cup O'Byrne Cup

The Dublin Senior Footballers will have a bye in the Round stages and advance to the Semi Finals of the O’Byrne Cup


Last week details were announced of the forthcoming Bord Na Mona Leinster GAA competitions. And it’s an opportunity for fans to get a nice early look at some up and coming footballers and hurlers.

The Dublin Senior Football panel will go straight to the O’Byrne Cup Semi Finals. They won’t be involved in the groups round phases.

Last year, Paul Clarke again took charge of Jim Gavin’s men for the competition. A win against Offaly and a loss against Wexford wasn’t enough to see them through to the Semi Finals. They were contested by Meath, Longford, Westmeath and Offaly. Meath and Westmeath finally got to play the final in May after bad weather completely ruined the early calendar. And Meath came out 4-13 to 1-13 winners over their rivalled neighbours.


Carlow, Westmeath, Offaly, Kildare (Group 1)

Longford, Wicklow, Louth (Group 2)

Laois, Meath, Wexford (Group 3)

Dublin have bye to the semi-final

While the Dublin Senior hurling panel await news of who their manager will be in 2019, they can at least look at what competition they’ll face in the Walsh Cup. The boys in blue will be in round robin action  along with Carlow, Laois and Offaly with the top team after three games advancing to the competition semi finals that will include Galway, Kilkenny and Wexford.

Dublin got their tenure under Pat Gilroy off to a great start last year with comprehensive wins over Meath and Antrim to set up a Walsh Cup Semi Final with Davey Fitzgerald’s Wexford. And it was Wexford who came out the better that day in Parnell Park on a score of 1-20 to 0-16.

Wexford and Kilkenny met in the final and after normal time and extra time were still stuck together on 1-24 a piece. So it took a shootout to decide the winner with Wexford outscoring the cats three penalties to two.


Round Robin: Dublin, Carlow, Laois, Offaly.

The winner of the round robin phase will take the fourth Semi Final slot.

Wexford Galway and Kilkenny have received a bye to the Semi Finals.