More New Faces As Dublin Starting 15 Announced for Donegal Encounter


Dublin boss Dessie Farrell hands out more opportunities to impress as he makes some changes to his starting 15

Starting 15 - Dublin v Donegal

Dublin v Donegal
Saturday, February 22nd. 7:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

Since Donegal handed Dublin their last Championship defeat, the battle lines were drawn. Luckily for Dublin it was a lesson that they learned greatly from and the rest, as they say, is history.

But in the tightest of Football League campaigns in a good few years, tonight’s contest will be watched closely by many. Dublin are the only unbeaten side in Division, albeit two of their opening three games have ended in stalemate. Donegal are only one point adrift of Dublin, Tyrone and Galway. They share a three point position with Monaghan, Kerry and Mayo. So there’s literally one point seperating seven of the eight sides in the table.

As he’s done so far throughout the competition, Dessie Farrell has again mixed up his starting selection, moving players around like pawns and introducing some fresh faces.

The manager has made four changes to the side that started against Monaghan two weeks ago. Kilmacud Crokes Cillian O’Shea gets the nod to join John Small and Niall Scully in the half back line. Scully, usually named in the half forwards, has flipped positions with Brian Howard.

Sean Bugler gets a start in the half froward line. The Plunketts man made an impressive impression coming on as a replacement against Monaghan, hitting the target three times and giving Kevin McManamon the assist for his goal.

Elsewhere Ciaran Kilkenny switches back to the half forwards, making way for James McCarthy to partner Brian Fenton in midfield. Paul Mannion and Kevin McManamon, who were also substitutes in the last fixture, get their spots in the 15.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Donegal)

1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
5. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
10. Brian Howard (Raheny)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Seán Bugler (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)