Monaghan Relegate Dublin To Division 2 In Final League Round


Jack McCarron was the hero for Monaghan as his last minute free sent Dublin down to Division 2 next year

Monaghan v Dublin - National Football League

Monaghan 3-13
Dublin 1-18
St. Tiernach’s Park, Clones

Not for the first time Monaghan performed a great escape to secure their Division 1 Football League status for 2023. But sadly that means Dublin, who shared the Division 1 League title with Kerry last year will be playing their league football in Division 2 next season after a dramatic finish in St. Tiernach’s Park this afternoon.

With Kildare joining them in the second tier next year, it means there will be no Leinster teams competing in Division 1.

Jack McCarron, who registered 2-06 today, nipped the result for Monaghan with an injury time converted free to the delight of the home supporters in Clones. It was the home side who led for most of the game but Dublin drew level with late penalty converted by Dean Rock giving the visitors hope.

Sean Bugler and Cormac Costello put Dublin into an early lead. But Monaghan dug deep, and Conor McCarthy and Darren Hughes gave the Clones crowd something to shout about. Sean Jones brokes through several tackles to slot the ball into the net, and Shane Carey made it 1-03 without reply before Rock ended the 12 minute scoreless spell.

Conor Boyle and McCarron extended Monaghan’s lead. But at the half time break Rock and Costello had clawed Dublin back within 2 scores on 1-07 to 0-08.

A dramatic ending sees Monaghan home

The Farney men continued strongly on the restart with Gary Mohan and Kieran Hughes. And when Mohan was fouled and awarded a penalty, McCarron confidently pushed his side seven points clear. Dublin responded immediately with Costello, Bugler and substitute Lee Gannon registering a hat trick of points.

But the afternoon belonged to McCarron as his brilliant lob made it 3-10 to 0-13 reaching the final quarter. Ryan Wylie received a second yellow card reducing Monaghan to 14 men. And James McCarthy endured the same fate. Despite this a series of Rock frees kept Dublin in touch. Kieran Hughes and McCarron hit back but there would be another twist in the tail.

A 71st minute penalty scored by Rock drew the sides level on the home straight. And despite both sides having chances to edge ahead, it was McCarron who clinched the winner, securing their Division 1 status, and sending Dublin down to Division 2.

Scorers for Monaghan:

Jack McCarron 2-06 (1-00 pen, 3f)
Seán Jones 1-00
Kieran Hughes 0-02
Conor McCarthy 0-01
Conor Boyle 0-01
Shane Carey 0-01 (1f)
Darren Hughes 0-01
Gary Mohan 0-01 (1f)

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 1-09 (1-0 pen, 0-8f)
Cormac Costello 0-04 (1 mark)
Seán Bugler 0-02 (1 mark)
Lee Gannon 0-02
Brian Howard 0-01


1. Rory Beggan
23. Drew Wylie
3. Conor Boyle
4. Ryan Wylie
5. Ryan McAnespie
6. Dessie Ward
26. Niall Kearns
8. Darren Hughes
9. Kieran Hughes
10. Conor McCarthy
11. Jack McCarron
12. Shane Carey
17. Fintan Kelly
14. Gary Mohan
24. Seán Jones

Monaghan Substitutes:

19. Colin Walshe for Carey (HT)
13. Andrew Woods for Jones (HT)
20. Karl O’Connell for Kelly (44)
7. Killian Lavelle for D Hughes (64)
2. Kieran Duffy for K Hughes (69)
15. Conor McManus for Walshe (73)


16. Michael Shiel
2. Michael Fitzsimons
3. David Byrne
23. Eoin Murchan
5. James McCarthy
6. Jonny Cooper
7. Robbie McDaid
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
10. Brian Howard
11. Seán Bugler
12. Niall Scully
13. Cormac Costello
14. Ciarán Kilkenny
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

19. Lee Gannon for Lahiff (22)
4. Cian Murphy for McDaid (29)
25. Brian O’Leary for Scully (57)
24. Lorcan O’Dell for Costello (64)
26. Alex Wright for O’Leary (69)