McCaffrey Returns To Starting Lineup As Dublin Face Mayo

RTE Player Of The Year

It’s the business end of the Gaelic Football season as Dublin stare down an inconsistent Mayo in the All Ireland

Dublin Starting 15 - All Ireland Football v Mayo

Dublin v Mayo
All Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter Final
Sunday, July 2nd. 4:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

2015 Footballer Of The Year Jack McCaffrey is the glaring addition to Dessie Farrell’s starting 15 as Dublin and Mayo go head to head once more for a place in the last four of the 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship.

The last time the Clontarf man featured was in this year’s Leinster Final clash with Louth, where McCaffrey ultimately took himself out of the action after 32 minutes as a precaution. But he returns on Sunday being named in place of Eoin Murchan who will feature on Dublin’s bench. Bu that bench is bolstered by the likes of Paul Mannion, Cormac Costello, Davy Byrne, and Dean Rock, all ready to spring into action.

Dessie Farrell has named his strongest hand to date in what will likely be Dublin’s toughest test this year. Sean Bugler, who was a doubt after a suspected hamstring injury in the game against Sligo also starts. It’s quite the signal of intent by the Dublin manager who will expect a massive performance from his charges.

Dublin Senior Football Panel (v Mayo)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
2. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Brian Howard (Raheny)
10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Seán Bugler (St. Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
13. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)
16. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
17. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
18. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
19. Craig Dias (Kilmacud Crokes)
20. Tom Lahiff (St. Judes)
21. Seán MacMahon (Raheny)
22. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
23. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
24. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)
25. Lorcan O’Dell (Templeogue Synge Street)
26. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)