Dublin Squad In a huddle in sky blue jerseys and navy shorts face Mayo who are without a win against the Dubs in 13 attempts

Mayo Without A Win In Thirteen Attempts Against Jim Gavin’s Side


Mayo are still to record a win against Dublin since Jim Gavin took over as manager. In the thirteen meetings between the sides since 2013 Dublin have won ten and drawn three of the fixtures.

Under Gavin in the championship the sides have met on six occasions with those encounters in either the All Ireland semi final or final with Dublin winning four and drawing two, the drawn games were the 2015 All Ireland semi final and 2016 All Ireland final.

In the league they have met seven times during Gavin’s reign with Dublin winning six of those games and drawing the other a high scoring tussle in Croke Park in round six of the Allianz National Football League in March 2014 which finished Dublin 3-14, Mayo 2-17.

This weekend’s game in Croke Park is seen by some as the perfect opportunity for Mayo to record their first win against a Jim Gavin managed Dublin side – particularly with a number of defenders on the injury list, suspended or lacking game time.

But sport is not that simple and a look back through the history books is grim reading for those of a green and red persuasion.

Since 2006 Mayo have an abysmal record of just four wins against the Dubs in 21 meeetings in league and championship. 

Their two league wins coming in 2007 and 2012 and Mayo’s two wins in the championship were six years apart in the All Ireland semi finals of 2006 and 2012 – the 2012 wins in league and championship are their last victories over the Sky Blues.

Hardly a record to send shivers down the spine of even the most pessimistic supporter among the Sky Blues fan base and although some of the losses incurred by Mayo over the last 13 years at the hands of Dublin were by narrow margins particularly in their recent championship encounters, Mayo will carry a hefty amount of unquantifiable psychological damage from those defeats into Saturday’s game.

While some think this might the right time for Mayo to finally get that win over their great rivals it may actually be the exact opposite.

There’s nothing more dangerous than a wounded animal and Dublin will be smarting after two league defeats in three games and that’s never a good time to face this particular group of players. Saturday’s fixture promises to be a fascinating affair.


Dublin v Mayo Previous Meetings Since 2006:




2006: Dublin 4-10 – Mayo 1-10

2007: Mayo 0-10 – Dublin 0-09

2009: Dublin 0-09 – Mayo 0-09

2010: Dublin 1-09 – Mayo 0-08

2011: Dublin 4-15 – Mayo 3-13

2012: Mayo 0-20 – Dublin 0-08 (Refixed After Original Game Abandoned At Half Time Due To Fog With Dublin Leading 0-08 to 0-05)

2013: Dublin 2-14 – Mayo 0-16

2013: Dublin 2-16 – Mayo 0-16 (League Semi Final)

2014: Dublin 3-14 – Mayo 2-17

2015: Dublin 2-18 – Mayo 2-10

2016: Dublin 0-09 – Mayo 0-07

2017: Dublin 1-16 – Mayo 0-07

2018: Dublin 2-10 – Mayo 0-12




2006: Mayo 1-16 – Mayo 2-12 (All Ireland Semi Final)

2012: Mayo 0-19 – Dublin 0-16 (All Ireland Semi Final)

2013: Dublin 2-12 – Mayo 1-14 (All Ireland Final)

2015: Dublin 2-12 – Mayo 1-15 (All Ireland Semi Final)

2015: Dublin 3-15 – Mayo 1-14 (All Ireland Semi Final Replay)

2016: Dublin 2-09 – Mayo 0-15

2016: Dublin 1-15 – Mayo 1-14 (All Ireland Final Replay)

2017: Dublin 1-17 – Mayo 1-16 (All Ireland Final)