Dublin’s Paul Mannion Scores The Opening Goal In Saturday Nights Mauling Of Mayo In The AllIanz NFL
Dublin’s Paul Mannion Scores The Opening Goal In Saturday Nights Mauling Of Mayo In The AllIanz NFL


Dublin 2-10

Mayo 0-12

Sometimes a final scoreline doesn’t give an accurate reflection of what preceded and tonight’s game was certainly a case in point as Dublin handed Mayo a four point mauling in McHale Park in Castlebar.

Three late frees by Conor Loftus in a game that was long over as a contest put a gloss on the final score and gave the illusion that Mayo were competitive in tonight’s fixture.

Dublin controlled proceedings in Castlebar from the throw-in and set the tempo and agenda for the game early doors with a cracking goal from Paul Mannion who collected a brilliant pass from John Small, hit the afterburners leaving Eoin O’Donoghue to choke on his fumes and buried the ball to the roof of the net past Rob Hennelly.

The movement and pace of Jim Gavin’s men tonight had Mayo chasing shadows at times and Dublin cut big holes in the Westerners defence.

Dean Rock looked particularly sharp this evening in a man of the match performance, Fenton and Macaulay excelled in the centre and Kilkenny, Mannion and Scully were a constant threat.

For Mayo the only two to really standout where Kevin McLoughlin and Jason Doherty who kept Stephen Rochford’s side somewhat in touch in the first half with a couple of well struck frees.

Dublin though kept a stranglehold on the game and the boys in blue ability to hold Mayo at arms length by keeping the scoreboard ticking over and denying the men from the West any scoring momentum were key factors in tonight’s win.

Gavin’s team took a five point lead into the break with the scoreboards in McHale Park reading 1-09 to 0-07 in the metropolitans favour.

Mayo needed a response in the second half but ten minutes after the restart the game was all but over when Niall Scully tipped a Dean Rock high floated pass to the back of the net.

The game just petered out for final 25 minutes with Dublin holding onto the ball and probing and surprisingly neither side scored from play for the rest of the game.

Mayo did have a few opportunities from frees, but with Cillian O’Connor suspended for tonight’s fixture they tried three different free takers this evening all of them couldn’t kick snow off a roof.

The only other incidents of note in the second half was the introduction of Diarmuid Connolly for his first appearance of the season and the late sending off of Michael Fitzsimons on a straight red card for a late studs-up tackle on Aidan O’Shea.

In the end though Dublin under Jim Gavin extended their winning record against Mayo to 10 wins from 13 games and although the record books will show that the Dubs won this one by just four points in reality it was a mauling.

Anyone from the Yew County that believes otherwise are just fooling themselves.

Next up for Dublin is a return to Croke Park next weekend and a meeting with old rivals and current league title holders Kerry.


Dublin Scorers:


Dean Rock 0-06 (4f)

Paul Mannion 1-01

Niall Scully 1-00

Ciaran Kilkenny 0-02

Brian Fenton 0-01


Mayo Scorers:


Jason Doherty 0-03 (3f)

Conor Loftus 0-03 (3f)

Kevin McLoughlin 0-02

Lee Keegan 0-01

Andy Moran 0-01

Rob Hennelly 0-01 (1f)

Stephen Coen 0-01


Dublin Team:


1. Stephen Cluxton

18. Darren Daly

19. Mick Fitzsimons

4. David Byrne

5. James McCarthy

6. Jonny Cooper

7. John Small

8. Brian Fenton

9. Michael Darragh Macauley

10. Brian Howard

11. Ciarán Kilkenny

12. Niall Scully

13. Paul Mannion

20. Kevin McManamon

25. Dean Rock


Dublin Substitutions:


17. Diarmuid Connolly for 9. Macauley (54th min)

15. Colm Basquel for 13. Mannion (54th min)

23. Cian O’Sullivan for 7. Small (54th min)

24. Ciaran Reddin for 10. Howard (61st min)

26. Paddy Small for 6. Cooper (64th min)

22. Emmet Ó Conghaile for 8. Fenton (69th min)


Mayo Team:


1. Rob Hennelly

2. Caolan Crowe

3. Ger Cafferkey

4. Eoin O’Donoghue

5. Colm Boyle

21. Lee Keegan

6. Michael Hall

8. Stephen Coen

11. Aidan O’Shea

10. Kevin McLoughlin

12. Diarmuid O’Connor

7. David Drake

13. Jason Doherty

14. Andy Moran

15. Adam Gallagher


Mayo Substitutions:


22. Seamus O’Shea for 15. Gallagher (54th min)

24. Fergal Boland for 12. O’Connor (61st min)

25. Conor Loftus for 10. McLoughlin (61st min)

19. Sharoize Akram for 7. Drake (66th min)

9. Danny Kirby for 13. Doherty (70th min)


Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)