Leinster Minor

The group games for this year’s Leinster Minor Football and Hurling Championships are in the calendar


With the league competitions coming to close in the coming weeks, it will be the turn of the Dublin’s Minor hurlers and footballers to get their 2019 Championship up and running. And now we know the dates, times and opponents for both competitions in the Leinster Championship. So let’s get you updated.

Leinster Minor Football Championship 2019

The Leinster Minor Football Championship consists of three groups of four teams. The top two teams from each group will go on to contest the knockout stages of the competition. Dublin have been drawn in Group 2 along with Offaly, Wexford and Meath. They will play one home game and two games away from home. The games will be played between April 23rd and May 15th.

The Quarter Finals of the Championship will be played on Saturday, June 1st. The Semi Finals will take place on Saturday June 22nd with the final pencilled in for Saturday July 6th.

Group 1:

Carlow, Laois, Longford, Westmeath

Group 2:

Dublin, Offaly, Wexford, Meath

Group 3:

Kilkenny, Kildare, Wicklow, Louth

Dublin’s Group 2 Fixtures:

Tuesday, April 23rd – Dublin v Meath – Parnell Park – 7:30pm
Wednesday, May 8th – Wexford v Dublin – Innovate Wexford Park – 7:00pm
Wednesday, May 15th – Offaly v Dublin – Bord Na Mona O’Connor Park – 7:00pm

Leinster Minor Hurling Championship

There’s a bit more detail involved in the Leinster Minor Hurling Championship. The teams are broken into a three tier system. The top two teams in Tier 1 will advance automatically to the Semi Finals, with the bottom playing in the Quarter Finals. The teams in both Tier 2 and Tier 3 will all play in the knockout stages, and the rounds will determine their positions.

Dublin will be in Tier 1 with Kilkenny, Offaly and Wexford. Tier 2 consists of Laois, Westmeath, Antrim and Kildare. And Tier 3 is made up of Carlow, Meath and Down.

Knockout Stages Layout

Round 1 of the knockouts will run as follows:

A. 1st in Tier 3 v 4th in Tier 2
B. 2nd in Tier 3 v 3rd in Tier 2
C. 3rd in Tier 3 v 2nd in Tier 2
1st place in Tier 2 receives a BYE

Round 2 of the knockouts will consist of two games:

Winners of Game A will play the winners of game B. And the winners of game C will face the 1st placed team in Tier 2.

The Quarter Finals will be a seeded draw, with the bottom 2 teams from Tier 1 in one bowl and the winning teams from Round 2 in the other bowl. The Semi Finals will be seeded with the Winners in Tier 1 facing the lowest placed qualifier and the runners up in Tier 1 playing the second lowest placed qualifier.

Dublin’s Tier 1 Fixtures:

Saturday, April 27th – Kilkenny v Dublin – Nowlan Park – 2:00pm
Saturday, May 4th – Dublin v Offaly – Parnell Park – 2:00pm
Saturday, May 11th – Wexford v Dublin – Innovate Wexford Park – 2:00pm