Leinster Minor Championship Fixtures Announced

Leinster Minor Championship 2020

Both Leinster Minor football and hurling championships will get underway the on the 17th and 18th of October

Leinster Minor Championship 2020

With the landscape of this years GAA calendar taking shape very quickly the games will come thick and fast from the Club Championships right through the Inter County competitions.

And today the details of this years Leinster Minor Championship in both football and hurling were revealed. Both competitions commence on the weekend of the 17th and 18th of October in both codes.

Last year Jim Lehane’s Dublin Minor Footballers had a fantastic provincial campaign but were pipped at the post by a strong Kildare side in the Leinster decider. Convincing wins over Meath, Wexford and Offaly in the Round Robin stages set up a last eight tie with Wicklow. And the young boys in blue left Aughrim with eight points to spare as they headed for Mullingar. There, they dispensed of Westmeath setting up their final clash with Kildare.

This year, in a more scaled down competition, Dublin kick off their campaign against Meath with home advantage. Should they win that, they’ll move onto face Westmeath in a Quarter Final. The Semi Finals and Finals roll into November.

Leinster Minor Football Round 1
October 17th/18th 2020

Dublin v Meath
Wexford v Louth
Longford v Wicklow

Leinster Minor Football Quarter Finals
October 28th 2020

1. Kildare v Wexford/Louth
2. Offaly v Longford/Wicklow
3. Dublin/Meath v Westmeath
4. Laois v Carlow

Leinster Minor Football Semi Finals
November 7th 2020

5. Winners Game 1 v Winners Game 2
6. Winners Game 3 v Winners Game 4

Leinster Minor Football Final
November 18th 2020

Winners Game 5 v Winners Game 6

In last year’s Leinster Minor Hurling Championship, after a heartbreaking one point loss to Kilkenny in the opening round, Dublin went onto beat Offaly by a thirteen point margin. From there a draw in Round 3 with Wexford, set up a repeat tie with the same opponents on the competitions Semi Final. And with Parnell Park as the venue, Dublin bowed out as Wexford advanced.

This year, Dublin avoid the opening round heading straight for the Quarter Finals, playing either Westmeath or Carlow. Those two counties were drawn in the opening round alonsgide Antrim, Kildare, Laois and Offaly.

Leinster Minor Hurling Round 1
October 17th/18th 2020

Offaly v Laois
Westmeath v Carlow
Antrim v Kildare

Leinster Minor Hurling Quarter Finals
October 24th/25th 2020

1. Offaly/Laois v Antrim/Kildare
2. Dublin v Westmeath/Carlow

Leinster Minor Hurling Semi Finals
October 31st/November 1st 2020

3. Winners Game 2 v Winners Game 1
4. Kilkenny v Wexford

Leinster Minor Hurling Final
November 15th 2020

Winners Game 3 v Winners Game 4