On this day in 2015 Jim Gavin’s charges recorded their fifth consecutive Leinster Championship win over Westmeath

Dublin 2-13
Weatmeath 0-06

As we look back through the years of championship action it was on this day in 2015 were Dublin retained their Leinster Championship title, making them five in a row provincial football champions in their current run of nine titles.

While the game was all but over, two goals in a minute in an electric second half saw Dublin run clear of Westmeath, putting their Leinster opponents out of the competition. Bernard Brogan and Jack McCaffrey both hit the net putting Dublin into the ascendancy.

Despite the massive odds in Dublin’s favour going into the game, it made for an absorbing tactical battle, in the first half at least. Westmeath certainly deserved credit, giving Dublin a tough test of the All Ireland credentials. Longford and Kildare had trailed the Dubs by 12 and 13 points at half time in the preceding games. But Tom Cribbins tactics ensured his Westmeath were only 4 points adrift of the reigning champions at the break.

A Blue Juggernaut met the Maroon after the break

But Dublin emerged from the Croke Park tunnel for the second session with that trademark nose for blood. The boys in blue reeled off 2-01 in the blink of an eye. And all of a sudden Westmeath’s deficit went from 4 to 11 and things just seemed impossible.

Losing Paul Greville, Paul Flynn wheeled away and fisted the ball to the back post where Brogan held off the attention of his marker to palm the ball past Darren Quinn.

And Play had hardly restarted when McCaffrey burst through on goal and finished with trademark composure.

The nerves that may have been festering on Hill 16 quickly dissipated, and the game soon fizzled out. So much so there were only four scores in the final 28 minutes of play. Dublin reclaime their Leinster Championship, setting their sights on an All-Ireland quarter-final. Westmeath began to plan for a Round 4 qualifier and their own shot at a place in the last eight.

Scorers for Dublin:

Bernard Brogan 1-01
Jack McCaffrey 1-00
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-03
Diarmuid Connolly 0-03
Dean Rock 0-02 (2f)
Philip McMahon 0-01
James McCarthy 0-01
Michael Darragh Macauley 0-01
Alan Brogan 0-01

Scorers for Westmeath:

John Heslin 0-03 (2f)
Kieran Martin 0-02
Francis Boyle 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Jonny Cooper
3. Rory O’Carroll
4. Philly McMahon
5. James McCarthy
6. Cian O’Sullivan
7. Jack McCaffrey
8. Brian Fenton
9. Michael Darragh Macauley
10. Paul Flynn
11. Ciaran Kilkenny
12. Diarmuid Connolly
13. Dean Rock
14. Kevin McManamon
15. Bernard Brogan

Dublin Substitutions:

23. Michael Fitzsimons for Cooper (HT)
17. Paddy Andrews for McManamon (47)
18. Denis Bastick for Macauley (51)
20. Alan Brogan for Rock (55)
26. John Small for McMahon (61)
19. Tomás Brady for Connolly (65)


1. Darren Quinn
2. Killian Daly
3. Kevin Maguire
4. John Gilligan
5. Paddy Holloway
6. Kieran Martin
7. James Dolan
8. Denis Corroon
17. Frank Boyle
10. Ger Egan
11. Paul Sharry
12. Ray Connellan
24. David Lynch
14. John Heslin
15. Shane Dempsey

Westmeath Substitutions:

23. Paul Greville for J Connellan (HT)
20. Ciarain Galvin for Dempsey (HT)
25. Callum McCormack for R Connellan (52)
21. Denis Glennon for Holloway (53)
18. John Egan for Heslin (62)
22. Jamie Gonoud for McCormack (64)